We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Windmill Road | Near Gerrards Cross, Fulmer SL3 6HD, England
+44 1753 663183
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Fulmer
Cuisines: English, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a super 45 birthday dinner with friends , great food and very friendly staff would recommend to anyone,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    72
    18
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Really nice atmosphere and friendly and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We were invited by friend to go along to the quiz night on Monday. The quiz master was really funny and the atmosphere was so friendly with lots if banter. Been to a quiz at another pub and it was far to serious!! This was fun and I will be going again. Had dinner at the same time and I have to say it was excellent. The staff were really friendly too. Not a pub person but had the best time ever in a pub!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“70th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival staff gave us a very warm welcome. My friends arrived and were immediately given a welcome drink and the atmosphere was very happy and friendly. After taking our seats our food order was handled very efficiently. Starters were lovely and fresh, our main course came out hot and was delicious.
After our meal we continued to enjoy coffee and birthday cup cakes. At the end of the evening my friends felt we had a great time at a lovely venue. We would recommend the Black Horse to anyone who has a special day coming up or looking for great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Real McCoy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was recommended this pub by a good friend and a great recommendation it was too. I went on a Thursay lunchtime and chose from the 2 course fixed price menu at £12.50. The first course I selected was a starter of seared scallops and the main was a venison sheperd's pie. Both dishes were quite superb and cooked to perfection. I was slightly concerned the food might not of been to this standard given the price......I need not have worried.
The atmosphere was warm, the pub's decor gorgeous and the service genuinely friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Country pub worth travelling to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch on a Monday. Food was fantastic, the service was great and very good value for money. The new owners have given the place a new lease of life and I look forward to going back there for dinner or dare I say it to have a beer in the garden when summer comes!The place was buzzing on Monday lunch time so must be good. Will even consider turning up early doors for a coffee and a croissant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Denham, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.