We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap hotel with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devereux Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Devereux Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Remuera road, Remuera 1050, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
nofixedabode
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good cheap hotel with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed in the Bodrum Room - which is a reasonably-sized room with en-suite. Hotel is very clean and well-decorated. There is off-street car parking. The staff were very friendly and quite helpful - like a family hotel. The hotel is away from Remuera Road and so quiet. The walls are old and thin and could hear someone snoring - was he in the next room, or two rooms away!! All in all, very enjoyable and well-priced. Bed was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
13
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had noted the disappointing reviews on the Devereux's website and decided to check out for myself as I have often walked past this hotel for many years, but not entered into the grounds. I returned from a 6 month vacation on the Gold Coast New Years eve, and needed to acquire local accommodation close to my teenage daughters school. When I entered the hotel, I was greeted by the most charming chinese family who had difficulty with the english language, but did their best to accommodate my daughter and I in one of their finest rooms - whereby I have comfortably stayed for the past 6 weeks. The hotel is a little "tired" , but clean and cared for and appears to be slowly coming back to life with the many guests who are now staying there. I love the "secret garden" off the conservatory, and the new "kiwi" manager has created some really nice changes around the property and inside the house. We had guests staying from all over the world which was really lovely as there is a home away from home feel which takes away the impersonal stays from the hotel/motel accommodation. Not for this girl thanks! I was sad to finish my stay, but will certainly look forward to returning soon to enjoy all the new facilities that will be available I believe in the very near future. All the best to the Jiang family for being so caring and welcoming, and I wish the delightful new lady host all the best with her new role. (and I can't wait to enjoy one of the "breakfast at Tiffany" morning teas I understand will be available soon. Thanks Devereux from Claudia and Petra.

Room Tip: If you want the cheapest room - ask for the Bodrum - gorgeous little window seat but quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very basic thought it might be ok for the price but was wrong. Rooms are basic but ok, service was all gone staff could not be bothered with me and I felt like I was in the way.

Won't be back, but will try another hotel in the next few week but not this !!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had to come to Auckland for work last week, and being school holidays everything was so expensive, so stumbled across this place on Wotif. The rooms have a rack rate of $250, so thought it can’t have been too bad. Now I don’t want to give this place a terrible review….. but if you were paying in the two hundreds for this place I would be feeling rather ripped off about now.

Let’s start with the positives – it is in a great location(well for me), central Remuera and close to the motorway. Free car parking, and the rooms are back off the road, so limited road noise.

When I drive up, my immediate reaction was that this place needed some work, the outdoors really needs some attention. When I arrived at reception it was closed, and the mobile numbers at the desk when straight to voicemail, so it took a couple of attempts to get someone.

My room was ok, as I said I would have been very disappointed for $250 as it is certainly not worth that. Room was tiny, with a double bed, small fridge and a small ensuite. The bathroom spelt rather damp.

Bed comfort was ok, but nothing to write home about.

For me the negatives were – room was freezing cold, I had the heater on full the whole time I was in the room (including throughout the night), and it still didn’t seem to get that warm, walls are paper thin, staff although tried to be friendly, English was a second language for the guys who served me, so took a long time to explain what I wanted, lastly although the room was clean (bathroom, sheets etc), it was all the little things like dusting, cobwebs etc that had not been done that bothered me.

Overall I don’t think I would stay here again, just for the fact that the rooms were so cold, and the fact that they would even try and charge $250 for the room.

This place with a little love and time could be awesome, but at the moment it just isn't there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

if you want a tidy clean and comfortable hotel then go for it but don't expect the boutique experience

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

First stop on our journey. Very welcoming staff member and first impressions. Loved our sunny individually furnished and decorated room upstairs. Best breakfast we had all holiday and loved the setting in the garden conservatory. Fantastic value for money and very memorable. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

This comfortable hotel has pleasant rooms, each with its own individual decor and interesting furniture and antiques. Bathrooms tend to be small - ours was particularly cramped and the basin was useless.
Good breakfast with nice choices on buffet and on cooked menu. Tea/coffee and cookies and complimentary evening glass of wine available.
The hotel does have broadband internet, but you'll have to remember your own ethernet cable! Staff friendly and unobtrusive - the new owners took over late last year, and they are still working on refreshing the look of this hotel, but we wish them well.

Made a very good base for us, as our family are in Remuera, but may be too far from town for most visitors. It's a 15-20 minute drive or bus ride into downtown, but there are pleasant restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devereux Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devereux Boutique Hotel

Address: 267 Remuera road, Remuera 1050, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devereux Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Devereux Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devereux Boutique Hotel Auckland/Remuera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devereux Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.