We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to try; crispy pork with red curry or chicken with cashews;” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Silk Restaurant

Thai Silk Restaurant
601 Karamu Rd, Hastings 4201, New Zealand
(06) 878 3718
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 53 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
“A must to try; crispy pork with red curry or chicken with cashews;”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would rate this thai restaurant as the best .I have be fortunatly enough to travel over seas OE last year dining at numerious thai restaurants and found that nothing comes close to the freshness and quality of the food they cook. The restaurant has been up graded and the staff are very obliging and friendly.I would and do recommend Thai Silk in Hastings and their sister restaurant Starlake in Havelock North to any one traveling to the bay.I love thai food and I am fortunatly close to both of them to frequent them on a regular basis

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hadn't visited Thai Silk for years, but shan't be leaving it so long this time. Lovely food and friendly, welcoming staff. Portions are big without being overwhelming. The only down side being that we were never offered the dessert menu. By the time we thought to ask, we had to leave. Will have to have 2 desserts next time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkesbay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Arai Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Authentic Thai at reasonable prices, the new fit out is wonderful, great to sit sipping a beer Singha whilst you wait for your table and or your take out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best fried rice ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cannot get enough of your Thai silk fried rice, would highly recommend it yummo! Have heard only good things about you guys.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Authentic Thai food with brilliant service. We are regulars and are treated very well for our loyalty. Plus we always tip... because the whole experience is worth it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Silk Restaurant also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Silk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Silk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.