We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bakery in Hawkes Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John's Bakery & Cafe

John's Bakery & Cafe
358 Heretaunga St W, Hastings 4201, New Zealand
(06) 878 8594
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 56 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Napier
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“best bakery in Hawkes Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in Hawkes bay for Mission Concert , and visied hastings , johns Bakery had a great selection of food and Drinks , we stopped there Twice , custard square one of the nicest ive ever had , wife had a donut and she want a second ,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great service. Great food and a lot of Art Deco as well. The location is in the town centre. Seating is great as well...Sofia's !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“morning tea on the day we arrived”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this was the best bakery I have ever been to a great selection of food and so clean and tidy,Staff were very helpful as we had just arrived in the hawkes bay

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
562 reviews 562 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Decent cuppa and 'home baked' pie with a sammy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Heart of Hastings City on Heretaunga Street, we were looking for a good snack and cuppa.
John's 'Bakery' came recommended by a 'local', and didn't disappoint. Decent cuppa java and pot o' tea with a 'made in house' pie and a sammy did the business. Better than 'average' but not quite VERy good in our opinion. Tea bags only? no leaf tea...sammy was a tad stodgy but decent value for $ in clean friendly surrounds. Would go again if in the neighbourhood and try more menu items.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“food is varied and nice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

food is varied and nice, service fluctuates

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to John's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.