We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room witha view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Cafe

Clifton Cafe
468 Clifton Rd, Hastings 4201, New Zealand
+64 6-875 0096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 53 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ongaonga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room witha view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent cafe - superb food, great views with an extremely scenic drive to get there. Easy drive from Napier or Hastings

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we think we have the best spot in the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First impressions run true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

While I have enjoyed just one meal at Clifton Cafe I will be back. On a hot bummer's day lunch at the Clifton cafe was a treat. Beer and pizza could not have tasted better and I am looking forward to more. The outdoor seating is comfortable and on a hot day outdoors is preferable to the indoor decor that is warehouse inspired. The warehouse decor provides plenty of room for the larger group. The outdoor seating overlooks the marina and has shading available to mitigate some of Napier's sunny climate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi, thanks for thinking of reviewing Cifton cafe, however I beleive you have us confused with somewhere over in Napier? Our amazing view is out across Hawke Bay and to Cape Kidnappers:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had lunch here on New Years Day..it was very crowded but we eventually got a table outside in the shade. Fish and chips were fine. You order at the counter and are given a number to place on your table. Food took about 30minutes to arrive but in fairness the place was very crowded. Nice setting

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Keith, thank you for visiting. New Years Day was rather huge! We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in our lovely setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I found the cafe expensive and a lacking soul. The outside seating area was nice and the food good, but I wouldn't make a special trip back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review, I note that you visited back in April 2012. We took over the cafe in July and I beleive we have put "soul" back into the business, from plenty of childrens outdoor and indoor activities, to our 'home baking' and freshly produced meals. We aim to meet and greet all guests arriving into the cafe and hopefully make you feel welcome. Our wine list is sourced from the smaller Hawkes Bay producers so you can sample wines not readily available in super markets. We display local art and of course our setting is the Best in the Bay, how can anywhere where you can sit and watch and smell the sea be souless? Come and visit if you are out our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great day had by all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and attended a wedding at the Clifton Cafe. It was an excellent venue and a lot of people were surprised at how great the whole affair was. I would highly recommend this venue for the atmosphere and the spaceous grounds that are available for this venue.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Duncan, thank you for your review. We love our venue too! It was great seeing all the children happily entertained with our trikes and bikes while the parents were able the festivities.
Wasn't the rainbow over the Cape well timed to welcome the new bride and groom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Cafe also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Clifton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.