We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long black and dangerous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Espresso - Karamu Road

Bay Espresso - Karamu Road
141 Karamu Road, Hastings 4201, New Zealand
(06) 876-5682
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 restaurants in Hastings
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
hawkesbay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Long black and dangerous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Best coffee in town hands down no competition, the blackboard specials are also worth a try, delicious curries or seafood salads, excellent

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    22
    23
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I always stop in here at least for coffee when I'm in Havelock North! They roast their own coffee locally, and it is fantastic. The food is great too, and the seats outside are a lovely spot to start your day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Omahu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited Omahu site today
Fresh Breezy, Helpful & Interactive staff
GF Option abounded (a supreme Enchilada)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bay Espresso disappoints again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I am so wanting to like BE, but yet again I have had a less than satisfactory experience - this time Taradale. Served by a complete ditz ( maybe still recovering from her new years celebration perhaps?). My young daughter loves smoothies so I asked if they made berry smoothies and the reply was no, but she pointed out an artificially flavoured barbie drink on display at the counter - Yuk, no thanks. I ordered a banana smoothie. Once seated, 2 banana smoothies were delivered - realising that I had paid for two it was no problem to be refunded. Nice enough smoothie, no problem there. But look over to another table and there was a guy drinking a berry smoothie....good one. Train your young staff for goodness sake!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Coffee and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to Bay Espresso in the Village (19 Middle Rd, Havelock North) - 2 days running. Best coffee we had in Hawkes Bay. Also, the food was fresh and even the Eggs on Toast was delightfully presented. Excellent service as well - the waiter that day timed the delivery of each item (breakfast, then coffee) to perfection. No need to ask for double-shot here! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Espresso - Karamu Road also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Bay Espresso - Karamu Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Espresso - Karamu Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.