We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Valdez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Valdez Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Valdez Motor Lodge
1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at Valdez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Valdez over labour weekend and were extremely impressed with the accommodation. The room was huge, had a well equipped kitchenette, a huge spa bath and a nice private patio area. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. This place is great value for money for accommodation in a central location. I would stay here again any time and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
15
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were at the Valdez today for a one day Conference, very impressed.
The venue was comfortable and perfect for a small or medium sized group to interact and learn. There was no road noise or any other interruptions .
Food, both lunch and afternoon tea was excellent. High quality, home cooked and so very fresh. Well done, not a curled sandwich in sight!.
After conference cheese platter was exceptional, beautifully presented and an unexpected, wonderful surprise.

Anyone looking for a conference venue in the Hawkes Bay should put the Valdez on top of their list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hosts are nice and friendly. The room was warm and clean, had my own court yard. Bedrooms were upstairs, so plenty of room downstairs, will stay again. I have nothing but good things to say about this motel. Plenty of parking, NO road noise at all.

Oh, by the way, your husband is right about trout fishing. On departure day I got 4 or 5 hook ups but they "spat the hook" but I did land a nice 1kg Rainbow(47cm) - see photo

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our second stay (8 days) at Valdez Motor Lodge & was just as perfect as the first stay !!, The service & attention from the Owners, Warwick & Judy was again fantastic, without being intrusive, the Units are beautiful, spotlessly clean & well maintained. We have no hesitation in reccomending the property to Holiday makers & Corporates alike, I am sure all would be made very welcome at Valdez as we were.
We have booked to return yet again & look forward to our next visit, Don & Kate Purdon, QLD

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Having stayed in afew motels,i would say the Valdez isone of the best.
It is very quiet,clean & well maintained.
Best value in the bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed two nights in two bedroom unit. Quite spacious and comfortable. Friendly service. Appears to be well maintained and well managed. Convenient location on the main road a couple of minutes from city centre, but units are well back from the road so there's no noise. I think I would stay here again if in Hastings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Booked at Valdez over the net, & was a little apprehensive, ( especially after reading previous reviews on T.A), but upon arrival, was immediately impressed by the great ambience of the Property, but more so by the lovely welcome from the Owners. The Unit was clean, spacious & very well appointed. We stayed for 9 days & I cannot reccomend the Property highly enough, the Service from the Housekeeping staff was outstanding, & as mentioned the Owners were lovely, very helpful, but unobtrusive. Valdez is the perfect base for a holiday or business in Hastings,, it is within walking distance of Town & close to all the tourist spots.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valdez Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.