We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast: Very Dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Unwined Cafe

Unwined Cafe
Unison Vineyard | 2163 State Highway 50, Hastings 415, New Zealand
006469897913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 53 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $12 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Family friendly Winery Cafe at the heart of the GIMBLETT GRAVELS wine district. Open for breakfast/brunch, lunch, dinner (Fri & Sat), platters, selection of home made cakes/slices, coffee/Tea. Winery tours available and bike hire. Free Wi-Fi. All freshly made from local produce, served with hand crafted wines from boutique winery Unison Vineyard
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast: Very Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My hubby and I cycled 22 Klms to have brekky in your resturant. The coffees were flat whites but after scraping off and inch of froth we finally found our coffee, I think, and they were luke warm, I returned them, the 2nd attemped was 2 degs warmer and a tad stronger...... BUT at least it filled in time while waiting for our brekky: 1. poached eggs on toast with bacon, the other, Eggs Benedict, which took an hour to arrive, was cold, hard and uninviting ...................... we could not wait to leave. You potentually have a great destination but our brunch experiance was rubbish and expensive. PS we were the only ones having breakfast. Jan and Dave 06 8733488

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our family of 5 recently spent a lovely Sunday afternoon at Unwined Cafe. The food was to die for!! 2 of us had the most delicious braised pork on a smooth creamy mash with an amazing sauce. Another had the prawn and scallop risotto which was cooked to perfection. The other 2 had the lighter options of eggs benny and bacon and egg roll which they both thoroughly enjoyed. Being a non-drinker, the ginger beer tasting was a vey pleasant experience.
All our meals were delivered promptly considering there were several other diners plus a large group celebrating a birthday. Many thanks to the chefs and the friendly waiting staff - we really enjoyed our dining experience and will definitely be back!
I would have to agree with "First Impressions" that the grounds on entry to the cafe need to be tidied up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings nz
1 review
“First impressions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First impressions can set the tone for the eating experience and unfortunately our first impressions weren't good. The scruffy driveway rounding past an incredibly scruffy house set in long grass and 'stuff' everywhere made us wonder if we had come to the right place. The carpark fared no better. We were confronted by a walled garden chocka with weeds, wine tubs with dead or dying olive trees, a clothesline set in long grass, and the shed area was just a mess for all to see. A fence or hedge to hide the mess would go down well.
We found the cafe because of the umbrellas (otherwise no signage to indicate).
The courtyard area was pleasant on the eye and the playground looked well set up.
We waited 35 minutes for four breakfasts. We were the only ones there at the time. The food was okay but a bit pricey we thought.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Child Friendly Winery Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My sister and I, a couple of old ladies, enjoyed a lunch at Unwined recently, and enjoyed it very much. I thought the name was very clever, although they do in fact serve wine! We had a glass each of dry rose, which was better than the usual for a small winery. I had the wild mushrooms on ciabatta with feta and wilted spinach, while sister had the Thai squid salad. Mine was excellent, hers was good, but way too much salad and not enough squid. The staff are friendly and unpretentious, and there is an excellent fenced playground for kids. My only suggestion would be that the courtyard looks a bit bare, and would be very hot on a summer day, so suggest a few trees or vines in tubs to soften the look. A handy stop for the cycling trail, with excellent Hawthorne coffee. A big thumbs-up

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining on the winery trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great alpaca burgers and nice outdoor dining area with nearby play space for kids (and dogs). Not very busy during the week - a little more crowded during peak times on the weekends though

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unwined Cafe also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Unwined Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unwined Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.