We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amici Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amici Motel to your Saves list
Amici Motel
207 Pakowhai Road | Stortford Lodge/Frimley, Hastings 4120, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Western Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in the refurbished King Bed room & it was excellent & a brilliant find for a Motel. When one thinks of motel rooms you always imagine old & tired but this was not the case at all.
The room was very spacious, had two enormous chairs & a little table to sit or work at, the bed was a true King Bed (& not a Queen pretending to be a King) & it was extremely comfortable, a good size TV situated right in front of the bed, good wardrobe with iron & board, a kettle with decent coffee & tea & the bathroom was brilliant! The toilet had one of those amazing seats that goes down by itself & I so want too! The shower, basin & mirror were great & you could definitely swing a dozen cats in there! The only negative I have was the towels were those horrible motel size white postage stamps motels insist on using & some were even getting a tad threadbare which was so disappointing for such an amazing bathroom!
The motel even though situated on a busy road was actually very quiet so sleep quality was very good.
Having just stayed in lots of motels & B & B's on this trip the price for this motel ($125 a night I think) was excellent & was the cheapest place we had stayed in & to me brilliant value for money & I would not hesitate to recommend these refurbished rooms to anyone & I cannot see how anyone could complain on this price for such a great room.
We will definitely not stay anywhere else now so we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
great, thanx for your feedback. Honest brickbats and of course bouquets, are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
13
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was drawn to the site by the images and booked a Studio Room at $105 per night. This wasn't to save money so much as because all I needed was a clean average room with basic services and it is only a few dollars cheaper than a fully serviced modern (but characterless) unit at the innercity Portman Motor Lodge. The room was clean but depressing. It was in desperate need of an upgrade, had no iron or ironing board, flaking paint etc.

The refurbished rooms look good and it is a big complex so I understand that the owners need to work through a refurbishment programme but in its current condition this room is worth about $90. At $105 you can definitely do better in terms of quality and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
A bit of flattery from the opposition! Thanks for pointing out that we are a work in progress and as with a property of this size, there are a lot of options for the guests. Also we always welcome a room inspection for those of you who struggle with web sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a nice clean hotel. On a main road but set back further enough so I didn’t hear any street noise. Guests were friendly and helpful. A real nice and new big tV that I could view us lose the Americas cup on. Would stay here again. Room was warm as the weather was cool and wettish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks from all the hardworking team at Amici.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

we were upgraded to the executive suite which had a king size bed. The lady at reception was warm and welcoming and very friendly and happy to show me around the motel for HOY booking.
The room was clean and tidy with a good shower. Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: If you are offered an upgrade take it as the executive suite is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Yes, thanx, Hastings is the best place for such neat events, and the HOY is fast approaching again. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We picked Amici for our 2 night stay because it looked more modern than all the other motels in the region. The Motel has a number of newly renovated rooms that are amazing - more 5* boutique hotel than any motel I've stayed in. As we were travelling as a family we chose the older style but still newly renovated 1 bedroom rooms. Having the extra room was a godsend and a the furnishings and room were spotlessly clean. Despite being on a busy road, the motel is extremely quiet and we didn't hear traffic at all.

Janice the owner is extremely helpful and welcoming . They have only recently taken over management of the motel and it is clear they are raising the bar for NZ Motels. I would highly recommend Amici and hope the new owners do well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
So glad you stayed with us, we stive to help our guests as much as required. Zoe I hope the Fejoas were good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After mixing up the nights on Wotif arrived at the motel, was thinking that they may charge the same but was slightly dearer. Room was clean & tidy and the bed was comfortable. Receptionist was friendly & helpful as with a day off in middle of the week mixed the booking up but she was able to accommodate me for the two days, which was great. The only down side to the visit was visitors to the motel at 3am in the morning and making noise and playing music. Was not sure how to make them move on.

Room Tip: The room I had was great, it was easy to access and had a separate bedroom which may it very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and yes please reccomend to your friends. I am sorry you did not mention the noise while staying as I could have followed it up by with checking with other guests. As we had no party type people staying my guess is they were on the street behind. I apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We did the wine on bikes tour and stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights.
Good value, newly refurbished, very clean and spacious. Also the staff was very friendly and professional. We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Loved having you guys stay @Amici. Yes the wine on bikes is a great way to spend a day or 2 in the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amici Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amici Motel

Address: 207 Pakowhai Road | Stortford Lodge/Frimley, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amici is a new motel business which has recently seen a refurbishment in our Executive Studios and Executive 2 bedrooms. Also new furniture thru the rest of the property. We have executive, family thru to the more compact budget rooms available for your stay. A garden setting provides a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Close to wineries, bike trails, city centre, Hawkes Bay Hospital, Lindisfarne College and all that Hawkes Bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amici Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.