We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amici Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amici Motel to your Saves list
Amici Motel
207 Pakowhai Road | Stortford Lodge/Frimley, Hastings 4120, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love the new setup, great air conditioning for such a hot city. Huge car parking, generous sizes, so no scratched doors with neighbours.
Recommend staying here. Nice drive to top of Te Mata Peak too.
Pool used 4 times by kids!

Room Tip: Chose from recently revamped executive suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks Andrew and Gilly. Glad you could visit and thanks for enjoying our property.
Janice and Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Heard through friends that this motel had changed hands and gone through a major refurbishment so last week, whilst in Hawkes Bay, we thought we would try it. Wow is a very apt description. The front block has been totally redone and is outstanding.The new owners are welcoming and very friendly.The rooms are tranquil and spacious with all mod cons,the beds and bedding are fantastic. Just a superb place to stay whilst in Hastings.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks John for the positive comments we are very glad you like our Amici Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opotiki
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Yea totally agree new owners have totally changed the place, total refit and re-paint. Nice people running it too and the name is changed to 'Amici Motel'.....that means friend. It has big grounds with lost of trees for shade, a swimming pool to entertain the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the nicer rooms near the back as its nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This property has really changed and is under new management and the property has been refurbished and the new owners were great. We like what we saw and we have added a photo to show you the big change

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We travelled to Hastings to enjoy the local vineyards. After struggling to find a motel that I liked in Napier or Taradale. I decided to look for a motel in Hastings and found Amici motel which had just refurbished some of their rooms.

We stayed in the newly refurbished executive suites. I am so glad we decided to stay. The rooms had been decorated with modern furniture and had all new amenities. Loved our stay and the king bed was very comfortable. Looking forward to staying again and having a bbq in the garden.

Room Tip: Book the newly refurbished executive suites. Absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your stay Sarah and Grant. Thanks for being the first people to stay in the newly renovated room. Hope you are enjoying the BOP summer.

Janice and Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

would never dream staying here again, service was unfriendly, not all facilities were available and very noisy close to a main road, room should be investigated by Target cos I'm sure a blue light will show up germs, just don't bother not at all what it was worth.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Grumpy unfriendly man at check-in, We had booked online (prepayed) with Jason's and was told that the room was listed wrong and should be just a double bed. We looked at the room and it was very smelly with lots of flies, hot and no way me and my partner were fitting on the tiny bed. We went back to grumpy man and he offered an upgrade for $30 (upgrade to what was advertised). Room was very noisy (traffic and other guests) Also there was no air conditioning even though sign out front says "Air conditioned units".

Room Tip: Don't even think about budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amici Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amici Motel

Address: 207 Pakowhai Road | Stortford Lodge/Frimley, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amici is a new motel business which has recently seen a refurbishment in our Executive Studios and Executive 2 bedrooms. Also new furniture thru the rest of the property. We have executive, family thru to the more compact budget rooms available for your stay. A garden setting provides a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Close to wineries, bike trails, city centre, Hawkes Bay Hospital, Lindisfarne College and all that Hawkes Bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Amici Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.