We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No5 Cafe & Larder

No5 Cafe & Larder
248 State Highway 2 | Mangateretere, Hastings, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
maraekakaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good food, good service, nice place, would recommend for lunch or breakfast. Good location and easy to find. Good selection to choose from.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Microwave central.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast as we passed by going through to Hastings, after the reasonable rating on trip-advisor we thought best to stop in.
I had the blue berry pancakes, reasonably priced but disappointed, they were presented well on the plate but were not very nice, very tough, cold in the middle, warm on the edges, clearly had been microwaved, the banana was uncooked and In my opinion to green to be used. The menu said it was served with cream but was served with sour cream?!, not very Impressed at all. The coffee we ordered was average well priced, the service could do with some work as well. Dropping cutlery on the table hoping it will land nicely does not work.

We will not be going back, there are far better places in the Napier/Hastings area to go for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely menu, something for everyone from a simple scone to a rack of lamb.
Service was great as was the food. The kids loved the sand pit which meant we could enjoy some quite time with the morning papers.
A table had been dressed up for a High Tea for later that day. It looked very nice may have to try it out. There is also a really nice gift shop.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had heard many good things about the place so went for brekkie one Saturday morning. It was empty when we arrived and ordered but started to fill up before we left. We had the half breakfasts and a couple of coffees. The room is pleasant and light, though not convinced about the retail displays of kitchen stuff to buy sharing the space. Service was friendly and the coffee was good. The breakfast was just right in terms of quantity and hit the mark price wise. The food itself was nice and our only gripe, and it does really annoy us, is that the food was served on stone cold plates. That's food service 101 guys. The lovely food had to be shoveled down at a rate of nots before it went cold - and that kinda spoils it. That said we'd go back on the assumption that it was just a one-off screw up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice food, let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked a table for Mother's Day and waited...and waited...and waited. 1 hour and 15 minutes we waited - the place was obviously very busy, but this is far too long to wait for a reasonably simple brunch. The worst part of the experience was that nobody chose to let us know how long our food would take, preferring to leave us sitting there trying to waive a waiter down every twenty minutes or so.
When the food did eventually arrive it was well presented, tasty and of generous proportions. Good value too - five meals and four hot drinks for under $120. The wait staff were very apologetic, and we were given a free coffee to compensate - unfortunately a case of too little, too late.
It's a real shame that the time it took for food to arrive ruined the whole experience - had the service been up to scratch, No5 would easily have rated 'very good'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No5 Cafe & Larder also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to No5 Cafe & Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No5 Cafe & Larder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.