We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portmans Motor Lodge

Portmans Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Portmans Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Portmans Motor Lodge
401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Lower Hutt
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Can't say enough about this wonderful motel. Very clean and tidy and oh so quiet and relaxing. The pool was very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Totally worth the money. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Portmans.
The summer weather has been fantastic and its great to see the pool being used so much.
We do look forward to hosting you next time you are visitng Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turners Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

David and I choose to stay only at Portmans when we visit our son and daughter-in-law. We have a comfortable and friendly stay EVERY TIME.

The rooms are clean, fresh looking, modern, well appointed and stocked.

The owners are always friendly, helpful and obliging and interested in us not just as guests.

We highly recommend this Motor Lodge for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Pleased to read that your stay with us is always enjoyable.
Many thanks for your comments, they are always appreciated.
Looking forward to hear more of your exciting new move, next time you are in Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while we toured around the beautiful countryside and visited Napier. The motel is close to downtown, eating etc. it was quite spacious, clean and had everything that we needed. On the recommendation of the owners we went one evening to Vidal winery subject of its own review. The owners were quite helpful in recommending what to se and do in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Portman's for 9 nights. We arrived days earlier than booked and after 11:00 pm. Both Robert and Keren were extremely helpful and consistently friendly throughout our stay. We found the facilities to be clean and well maintained.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Portman's to anyone staying in Hastings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

we had a lovely studio room, nice modern decor. nice comfortable big bed, flat screen tv on wall. the studio room didn't have a full kitchen but jug, toaster, microwave and electric frying pan. very clean. we stayed here as it was very close to central city. very friendly, helpful staff. we had a very pleasant 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you both on your next visit to Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent a night at Portmans Motor Lodge recently and found it to be extremely pleasant. The room was clean and tidy, with a big comfortable bed. A DVD player was provided at my request, and the hosts were lovely to deal with. It's very close to the Hawke's Bay Opera House, and Hastings city centre. The tea/coffee selection was a lot more varied than standard motels which is always a bonus. We have tickets to a show at the Opera House later in the year, and I've already booked our room in advance. There's a bit of traffic noise in the early evening, plus the train track is nearby, but it certainly didn't bother me. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the complex, away from the main road, may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Had a lovely three night stay in a family unit. It was clean and quite well equipped, and we found the hosts very helpful. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front and there was some noise from the traffic light/crossing, and of course the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portmans Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portmans Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.