We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portmans Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Portmans Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Portmans Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portmans Motor Lodge
401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Hastings
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

we had a lovely studio room, nice modern decor. nice comfortable big bed, flat screen tv on wall. the studio room didn't have a full kitchen but jug, toaster, microwave and electric frying pan. very clean. we stayed here as it was very close to central city. very friendly, helpful staff. we had a very pleasant 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you both on your next visit to Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent a night at Portmans Motor Lodge recently and found it to be extremely pleasant. The room was clean and tidy, with a big comfortable bed. A DVD player was provided at my request, and the hosts were lovely to deal with. It's very close to the Hawke's Bay Opera House, and Hastings city centre. The tea/coffee selection was a lot more varied than standard motels which is always a bonus. We have tickets to a show at the Opera House later in the year, and I've already booked our room in advance. There's a bit of traffic noise in the early evening, plus the train track is nearby, but it certainly didn't bother me. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the complex, away from the main road, may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Had a lovely three night stay in a family unit. It was clean and quite well equipped, and we found the hosts very helpful. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front and there was some noise from the traffic light/crossing, and of course the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed here one night.
Wanted the closest possible motel to Cranford Hospice and this is it.
Was pleasantly surprised to find it so modern, warm and welcoming.
Keren made absolutely everything so easy including putting an extra bed in the unit, also extra towels and blankets.
Wall heater in the sitting room area made the entire unit warm in no time at all.
An absolute gem.

Would happily recommend this motel to everyone wanting a decent, safe place to stay whilst in Hastings or the Hawkes Bay.
Don't bother with the overpriced places in Napier, especially on the Westshore! Drive a little further on to Hastings and stay here :)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We were 2 couples, originally planned to stay at another Motel in town, didnt like the look of it so drove around & found Portmans Motor Lodge. Very central to town, clean well maintained building and grounds. Rooms were spacious, very clean and secure. We had a kitchenette, but chose to order breakfast in, and eat out. Close to wineries and restaurants, the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed 2 nights.Had a nice swimming pool, and clean guest laundry. We'll be back.
Gold Coast 4. Qld.

  • Liked — clean, welcoming, central.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

We stayed 1 night at the Portman's Motor Lodge in Hastings.

Room was modern, clean and spacious. It was well appointed with a small kitchen area and a good sized bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

Seemed reasonably central but we didn't actually walk to the centre as we got a taxi to the Vidal Winery for dinner (definitely recommended!)

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portmans Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 0000, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portmans Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.