We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Aros Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glen Aros Country Estate to your Saves list
Glen Aros Country Estate
1549 Raukawa Road | RD4, Hastings 4174, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hastings B&B and Inns
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We drove through miles of parched, brown countryside (at the time of our visit) and entered a Garden of Eden - green, watered lawns, fragrant rose gardens, neatly clipped low hedges, drifts of colourful flowers, all beautifully kept. The house is immaculate and we stayed in "Glencoe" which is a delightful room opening onto a veranda where we spent some time sitting and being served lovely afternoon tea. We were so well looked after by Meg, Nigel and Rob. Meg knows how to make people welcome and feel special. The lodge is a little way from the vineyards and we wanted to eat dinner at Craggy Range vineyard, so Rob very kindly drove us there so we would only have to pay for a taxi one way. Nigel's food is amazing. He prepared us a Degustation menu on our second evening when we were the only guests, and course after course of wonderful food appeared. We did enjoy our evening and every moment of our stay. Thank you for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegBremner, Manager at Glen Aros Country Estate, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a generous review. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and great to know you enjoyed our gardens and the lodge so much.
We hope you may include us on your NZ itinerary again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Glen Aros is a wonderful lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens and with great amenities. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom facilites were great.

Meg, the host, was very warm and welcoming and could not do enough to ensure our stay was everything and more than we could have expected. We really enjoyed the tour of the property as she showed us the lovely gardens and fruit trees and we understood how much of the wonderful food we had came from the property. We really enjoyed our chats with her and also with Nigel, the chef.

The food was fabulous. Nigel had us eagerly awaiting each meal - from his wonderful breakfasts with home-made muesli with almonds, white peaches from the property and lovely local yoghurt; bacon, mushroom, eggs, black pudding etc, jams also made by him with fruit from the property. Dinners were scrumptious; Nigel had us in bliss as we enjoyed his delicious creations which were matched with some outstanding wines. We were very sorry when it was time to leave.

The best part, for us, is that we will be shortly returning for another stay and we cannot wait!!

Room Tip: We stayed the the Glencoe Suite which was very spacious and charming with a king bed which led onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegBremner, Manager at Glen Aros Country Estate, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a review and for your complimentary comments.
We are glad you found the property so relaxing and appreciated your interest in our gardens and all the facilities we offer to guests.
Nigel really enjoyed creating your menus and your feedback at each meal. He is already working on the menus for your return visit!
We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hawke’s Bay in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

It took us an hour or so to totally relax but when we did we felt in the perfect surroundings.

The property is beautifully maintained, the room was spotless.

Meg and Nigel looked after us with consummate care and professionalism.

The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent - i need to have some more of the white peaches and the spiced walnuts Nigel !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegBremner, Manager at Glen Aros Country Estate, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Madelyn, thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. Great to hear that you were able to totally relax and that you enjoyed Nigel's food. We enjoyed looking after you both and hope that Steve had a memorable game of golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Glen Aros is a rare gem! This is a beautifully presented country lodge in a rural situation with beautiful gardens. Meg the lodge host is truly charming and will ensure guests have a totally relaxed and pampered stay. The food is absolutely exceptional! A lot of produce is grown at the lodge and chef Nigel makes best use of this and locally sourced produce. A delightful and charming property. It is sure to be a trip highlight!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We are so happy to finally have the opportunity to share our experience at Glen Aros with other Trip Advisor readers (they have only recently been listed here). Our 3 week vacation in New Zealand (February 2011) was memorable in so many ways. A highlight of this trip was the two days that we spent at Glen Aros. Meg and her husband Rob are the most gracious hosts and the estate's accommodations are superb. We stayed in the Glencoe Suite which had a very comfortable King size bed, luxurious bedding and great bathroom amenities. This estate has been renovated with impeccable taste and attention to detail. The gardens surrounding the house and the pool area afford lovely spots to relax with an afternoon drink and snacks. We are real foodies and the meals at Glen Aros left us overwhelmed! Chef Nigel Marriage tickled our taste buds with exquisitely prepared meals - each course better than the one before. Nigel's passion for cooking is evident and we so enjoyed our conversations with him. The food at Glen Aros was by far the best prepared and most inventive that we had in all of New Zealand. If you are in the Hawkes Bay area Glen Aros is a must!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Aros Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Aros Country Estate

Address: 1549 Raukawa Road | RD4, Hastings 4174, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Aros is a classic 1914 New Zealand country estate set in the foothills surrounding the wine growing region of Hawkes Bay. From its beautifully secluded location, Glen Aros is only a short drive to the many world class attractions of this diverse region, including wineries, winery restaurants, Art Deco Napier, fishing and golf. As a fully serviced lodge, Glen Aros is ideal for individual travellers or exclusive use of the lodge for small groups of friends or families.Six spacious bedrooms, each with a super king-sized bed and a modern en-suite bathroom are available for single or double occupancy. Tasteful furnishings lend individuality to every room, and enhance the original character of this elegant Hawkes Bay estate. Quiet, independent climate control, heating or cooling, assures your comfort winter or summer, throughout the house.Enjoy creative meals prepared by on-site chef, with an emphasis on fresh, natural foods and local produce. Menus can be arranged to suit guests’ preferences. Choose a wine from our extensive cellar of carefully selected New Zealand and international vintages.Guests can enjoy a stroll in the gardens, or find a private nook to write, read or simply soak up the atmosphere. Alternatively, work out in the exercise room, unwind and relax in the heated pool and spa, or try your skill at billiards, petanque. Wireless internet is also available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Aros Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Aros Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.