We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money accommodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil Court Motor Lodge

Anvil Court Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anvil Court Motor Lodge
Save
You added Anvil Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
1400 Karamu Road North, Hastings, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hastings B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money accommodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you after a place to stay with basic amenities and nothing flash I'd def recommend this place. At 50 bucks a night budget suite compared to 100 elsewhere you can't go wrong. Hr free internet per day per device. I use this place everytime I come up for work. Its close enough to town without the unnecessary inner city noise.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stopped in at The Anvil late one evening when we had not pre-organised any accommodation.
The room we had was a bit tired but it was comfortable and it suited our needs.
We cooked dinner in the little kitchen.
The facilities were quite OK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Anvil is a good low cost accommodation. they are conveniently located, about 10-15 mins walk from the main centre.
staff are friendly. it is nothing flash, but it is priced to suit. even at the cheap price, they still supply towels, soap & its still very clean & tidy. just dated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife, son(16) and I recently stayed at Anvil Court Motor Lodge in Hastings. We had initially booked for four nights but finished up leaving after two due to a change in our circumstances (we went there to visit our daughter who left Hastings for much of the time we were booked to visit).
There's not much I can say that was good about it. Yes they have a spa pool (listed on their website) but as it transpired it hasn't been in use for many months and there was just a few inches of cold stagnant water and an empty bottle floating in it. The single bed in the lounge was a pull-out sofa bed, which might have been OK except the mattress was only 4-5cm thick and with a very thin, dirty duvet (the substantial contamination was on the underside of the duvet and not the result of dirty bags being put on the bed as the manager suggested). The motel was frequented by seasonal workers who enjoyed smoking and drinking at the table outside their room, two doors from ours. My son and I tried using the pool table in the recreation room but abandoned play as none of the lights would work and it was becoming too dark to see. There were beds and mattresses piled up around it so play was rather cramped anyway. I tried using the spabath in the room and was met with several clumps of black crud when I turned the pump on. Apparently previous guests absconded with a key so we had to share the one key between us and hope the missing one wasn't used in our absence. There was an unheated outside swimming pool which looked well maintained but was too cold to use. Other than that, the place was a bit tired and lacklustre. We had to forfeit our $15 per night discount for staying for four nights (which we accept without grievance, acknowledging it was our choice to leave earlier than initially booked), but the $160 per night seemed like poor value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

A little old-fashioned and worn out in places (bathroom) but clean and beds comfy.

Room Tip: Don't have the room at the end of the row as smokers congregate outside at all hours of day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anvil Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Court Motor Lodge

Address: 1400 Karamu Road North, Hastings, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anvil Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.