We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay for Art Deco Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandvue Country Stay

Grandvue Country Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grandvue Country Stay
Save
You added Grandvue Country Stay to your Saves list
2596 State Highway 50, RD 5, Hastings, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hastings B&B and Inns
Coromandel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay for Art Deco Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Dianne & Keith Taylor were the best hosts. Such a welcoming couple. We had only intended to stay 1 night but were accommodated for two nights to take advantage of seeing as much as possible of this special Art Deco Weekend. Made to feel very much at home. Grounds beautifully appointed with a swimming pool to enjoy on a hot day. Locality in middle of wine and fruit area - also chocolates and cafes. Very comfortable beds. Delicious food. Great views and only 20 minutes from the centre of activities. They recommended what we should do and see. A great time was had by us both. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend this as nice homely place which caters for all tastes. Jocelyn and Gloria.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Dianne and Keith are a fantastic couple. We hadn't booked ahead but we're very accommodating and made you feel very welcome. Great views and short stumble to the bike wine tours. They gave lots of helpful travel tips and made a great breakfast. Would defiantly stay again and recommend.
Karen and Andrew

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dianne & Keith are such a friendly couple. They went out of their way to help us find further accommodation and enjoyed some lovely meals with them. Accommodation was excellent and the views from the garden could not have been better. This is definitely home from home.

Room Tip: Just like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Perfect location for doing a winery tour on a bike - just 200m up the road, so you can have a drink at the end of the ride then walk back to a home cooked meal. Dianne and Keith were superb hosts with stories to keep us fascinated. Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and quiet location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Diane and Keith last Spring, when we did the On Yer Bike Vineyard Tour. We normally book a room in a hotel but everywhere was full because of the Mission Bay Concert. I phoned Diane, her accommodation was full but she gave me the name of a friends B&B, again fully booked. Things were getting desperate, then Diane phoned me back, she offered us a private family bedroom, as long as I didn't mind the wardrobe full of family memorabilia clutter!
Did we mind? Not at all, the room was excellent. All the other reviews state just how good the place is. The thing that makes it special are Diane and Keith, they go beyond the call of duty to make you welcome. I don't think I will be booking a hotel room again after this experience. Thank you both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Grandvue is not the highlife; it's not amidst the hustle and bustle; it's no party scene. It's just home...with Keith and Dianne. If you want to know where to go, what to do, who's who in the neighborhood (there's plenty of all of that close by), these are your people and this is your place. It doesn't get nicer, cleaner, more comfortable, more real, more New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose the Grand Vue as it was within walking distance of the On Yer Bike Vineyard Tour. After a great day visiting several vineyards Diane was kind enough to cook us a lovely dinner. Our two night stay was very enjoyable and we were made to feel very welcome in their comfortable home and even enjoyed a swim in the pool. It made lovely change from anonymous hotels / motels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandvue Country Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandvue Country Stay

Address: 2596 State Highway 50, RD 5, Hastings, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandvue Country Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.