We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Cafe

Waterfront Cafe
23D The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
+64 9-403 7589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Licensed cafe right on the waterfront at Russell, Bay of Islands. Sheltered courtyard at rear when the wind is off the water. Great breakfasts and superb Atomic coffee, new exciting lunch options as well. Plenty of gluten free options available. Come and enjoy the view with a cold beer or glass of wine. WiFi available.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a good breakfast at the Waterfront Cafe. The only annoying thing is the Seagulls if you are dining al fresco, but this is hardly the fault of the cafe. Good spot in the centre of the waterfront.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NZer in Oz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“most excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good service, lovely food, gluten-free friendly, lovely view over Russell harbour - highly recommend this cafe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fabulous service by the young staff, who gave very good advice on the menu and local wine selection. Good food, and great wine. Also a great place to watch the sunset. Went back a couple of days later and they remembered me and showed me to my 'favorite table'

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good varied menu, reasonable prices. Food good when it arrived, would not want to be here is really busy took quite a wait for our order to arrive. Need to improve service. Excellent position overlooking the bay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appletreewick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our regular morning haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been staying in a villlage near to Russell for 6 weeks now. It has become one of our regular daily practices to drive into Russell for a late morning coffee, On many days this has turned into a more lengthy stay involving a follow up Cider or Beer. This Cafe is a Family run, quite an intimate affair, after a few visits with a bit of cheerful banter is always exchanged which lightens the duller days. They run Atomic Coffee, which is excellent to our taste, and the best coffee we have yet found in Russell. The Cafe is situated right on the Russell Strand seafront, at the quieter end near Pompellier. There are 6 or so tables out on the seafront and also has a pleasant elevated internal seating area behind glass, a good spot for the cooler windier days, but with good views (if you are lucky enough to get a table by the front windows of course). Whilst we have not yet eaten there we have watched a lot of dishes being served. All the food looks wholesome and well presented, altogether more appetizing than in many establishments. Some of our friends had a Hot Chocolate Drink - an art form in itself with a NZ Fern Motif set into the cream - worth having one if only to take a photograph of it !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Cafe also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.