We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious salt and pepper said” 5 of 5 stars
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
25 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
(09) 403 7652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Russell Bay of Islands New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious salt and pepper said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

One of my backpacker guests wanted to buy me lunch in appreciation of a great stay and we went to Sally's. Waterfront table, great autumn weather and a really good calamari dish. Warm salt and pepper squid so nicely cooked it melted in the mouth and the lemon dressing to calamari and salad was ' spot on'. Sally's you've done it again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    97
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sally's is the type of place where you can relax, enjoy the view and have something hearty to eat! My husband and I had burgers & fries on a cool day and it was just right! The atmosphere is relaxed, coffee very good and restaurant position fantastic. Thanks Sally & crew!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellence in the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our third visit back to Russell, and walking into Sally's makes us feel like we're coming home!!!
Wonderful friendly greetings, and the food is excellent.
This visit we dined at Sally's four times. Breakfast twice, lunch once, and afternoon tea once.
We figure - why stray when you've found the best in the bay!?!

Eggs and bacon to perfection, eggs benedict - heavenly, cakes to die for. All washed down with excellent coffee. Highly recommended to all!
we WILL be back....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh, NI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Super location and superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stopped here for lunch one day and the food was lovely, all very home made and excellent quality, great seafront location to stop for an espresso before moving on!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were on a day trip to Russell in the Bay of Islands and stumbled across Sally's Restaurant. The lady who greeted us was friendly and helpful as it had just started to sprinkle rain indoor tables were at a premium. She advised us to just order and that she would seat us in a second which she did. The food was delicious - we highly recommend the Seafood Chowder which was delicious. Right on the bay the views are lovely and this made the whole experience very pleasant and memorable. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sally's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.