We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good decent home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
25 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
(09) 403 7652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kent
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good decent home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The restaurant has a great situation overlooking the bay and wharf in Russell. The food is not fancy but good honest cooking and very much enjoyed by my wife and myself sitting at an outside table watching the boats and ferries come and go. We ate twice here having enjoyed the food so much the first time. If the sun is shining try to get an outside table right by the edge of the beach and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    124
    27
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor over-priced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Seafood over-cooked, on a bland pasta, and over-priced. The fish and chips - contained fresh snapper, but in a heavy over-cooked batter. Could get better at our local chippy for 1/5 the price. All meals came with chips from a bag. For these prices I'd expect hand-made chips. Waitress got the wine wrong - if it was this alone I wouldn't have minded, but easily the worst value meal I've eaten in NZ. We should have eaten at the Swordfish Club upstairs as planned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Something new for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

When I ordered the pan fried scallops, i had no idea they'd be served with their roe. It was a first for me, and I loved it. Everything we ordered was great, including the raw oysters and seafood chowder. The service was quick, friendly and attentive. The interior of the restaurant is lovely.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

very good meals. great location next to the water. try the prawn entree. desserts are also good, bit pricey though. will definately eat there again if visiting. they accept entertainment book vouchers.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lamb, chicken and scallops were pretty awful!! Fish and chips were good. Overpriced for the quality of food we received. Service was good and staff were friendly but food was very poor. Disappointing dining experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sally's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.