We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food and a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
25 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
(09) 403 7652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Food and a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sally's is set in the Island of Russel in the Bay of Islands. It's quaint town location sets the scene. The food was yummy the ambiance was nice you can choose to sit inside or outside. The Chicken and Pasta dish was scrumptious and nice big portions too Mark my partner had a lovely burger. They have a good selection of beers, wines and spirits to go with your meal. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    97
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great Green Lipped Mussles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

sweet place with very fresh calamari and green lipped mussels. The tea was hot, the service prompt and the view on the bay delightful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind word. See you next time at Sally's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Super location, right on the seafront. Try for a window table. The food is excellent. Very helpful staff. My companion didn't want a heavy meal after travelling so Sally was happy to let her have a choice from the lunchtime menu. Sorry folks but I went for the excellent Lamb Shank. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“A gem in Russell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The restaurant had a great atmosphere and friendly staff. The meals were well priced and although the "season" had virtually ended, there was a good number of patrons - attesting to its popularity.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A meal from yesteryear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited Sally's based on other reviews and I'm shocked at them compared to our experience. Quite often the difference is service or how something is cooked but to be honest we just got poor quality food.

We had mussels to start and they were quite good. I'm not very keen in NZ mussels as they are too big but that is not Sally's fault. For mains I had the lamb shank which was much more fatty than I've had at other restaurants which either suggests that they don't source their meat from a good source or the chef had not prepped very well. My partner had a Fijian curry which was pretty strange to say the least. First of all it came with a fancy balsamic, (yes you heard it right) balsamic glaze over the top. Truly bizarre. The curry itself taste can what only be described as 1980/90's microwave curries that you got in the UK. We make a lot of Indian food (which I understand is not Fijian but Fijian curry is heavily Indian influenced) and are not sure how you get that flavour cooking with fresh ingredients.

The only other comment I would say is that the decor is very tired and needs changing. The owner strangely has large photos of her family in the dining area, which isn't something I've seen before and should surely be left to their home.

We ate at the Gables the next night and it was a totally different and altogether better experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am so sorry I was not personally there to improve your evening,
Our Mussell are New Zealand green lip mussell and served in that size.
I have now sourced a new meat supplier, Zeal fresh. The shanks are smaller and there is no fat content. These shanks are oven baked in herbs and red wine. One of our best sellers.
Curry is made by a Fijian Indian chef who sources his spices from Auckland. He is very concerned with your comments.
I travel the world and have noticed in many restaurant 's that have photoes of chefs staff and families New Zealand France and Italy are especially family orientated.
Myself and Tracey my daughter have worked in this restaurant for at least 15 years. I am proud to be a Nana and have earnt the respect in this town and hospitatily indusrty. I am pleased to show repeat customers of which there are many how proud I am and how the children are progressing. I hope your next visit to Russell makes you happier. I will have updated photoes by then. Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sally's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.