We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in the setting sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Restaurant

The Gables Restaurant
19 The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
09 403 7670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food in the setting sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just had a delicious meal at The Gables, sitting outside on the seashore watching the sunset. The atmosphere is relaxed, but the food delectable. We all had the Northland menu - a good choice. We are all feeling full and content.
We crossed on the passenger ferry from Paihia - very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    72
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolute delight on the waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food matched with attentive relaxed service. Watch the sunset from the shoreline at Russell. Best restaurant in Russell without doubt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Russell's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our first night in Russell, we ate at The Gables and enjoyed the meal so much that we re-booked immediately for our last night, with a table right on the water's edge, watching the sunset. Perfect!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Brilliant, tasty, romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It was a delicious experience in a lovely beautiful place with a great sunset view.
Food quality is perfect, they know exactly what to do to make you happy.
Reservation is required specially in public holidays.
Staff are friendly and helpful, thank you guys.
We had 2 main dish and a salad for 80NZD. (Total of 165 NZD including drinks)
If you want to get there from Paihia, there is a direct ferry each half an hour which takes about 10 minutes and would cost about 7NZD per person/each way.
When you get out of the ferry station, go to your right (about 100 steps)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great meal and views to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent an afternoon at Russell and had lunch at The Gables on a recommendation from our accommodation hosts - we weren't disappointed.
We had a lovely meal and great cocktails sitting right on the waters edge. The food was great - nice variety of interesting dishes, and the service great too.
The restaurant is in one of the oldest buildings on the island so the inside area was beautifully decorated in period with full length open windows so you can still enjoy the view even from the inside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gables Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.