We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lodge in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa to your Saves list
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Wellington Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful lodge in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting Russell. We were made very welcome by Ruth and Jessie and by the time we left after three nights it felt more like we were leaving old friends.
The relaxed ambience, especially the evening drinks and canapes, made it very special and a great opportunity to chat and socialise which is an added bonus when you are a couple on a touring holiday.
The lodge is beautifully and tastefully decorated and the towels were incredibly soft. Coming from England we appreciated the tea making facilities in our room (not always provided in NZ) and also the TV. The breakfast choices and quality were very good especially when eaten outside in the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our stay at the Flagstaff was a delight.

Over the complimentary wine hour with Ruth and Jessie, we were informed of many things to do in the area, most of which helped shape the remainder of our NZ visit.

The breakfasts were delicious and custom to our tastes. Many of the ingredients, wines, coffee and even bath products in the rooms were locally made and organic. A lot of attention to detail was paid in the creation of The Flagstaff Lodge.

We were already extremely pleased with our stay, but the cherry on top came when we returned from a hike to find fresh lemonade and homemade cake sitting on the kitchen counter for the taking.

This place is fully of special touches, and is run by two warm, hospitable and intelligent women. Getting to know Ruth and Jessie was a delight.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Good location for sightseeing Russell & Bay of Islands, walking distance to good selection of restaurants. Very friendly hosts, breakfasts fantastic which can be taken either on the patio or inside. Computer connections available. TV has all channels you could wish for, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We travel with friends every year and rate Flagstaff Lodge as a pleasure to stay at. It presents more like a small luxury hotel than a B&B and is perfect for a small group (or even a couple!). There are only 4 spacious and beautifully presented ensuited rooms which open onto a wrap-around balcony, and a large guest lounge / dining / kitchen which was great for relaxing in together in the evenings.
Nothing was too much trouble for our welcoming hosts - they BBQed a fish one guest caught for their lunch, provided many helpful suggestions for activities, immediately attended to any maintenance issues, and made reservations for us.
The beds were very comfortable, rooms are quiet, airconditioned and stocked thoughtfully. If you like lots of towels you will love the bathroom. The delicious breakfasts include continental and a hot option, and there are drinks and canapes every afternoon to welcome and meet guests. This was a lovely added extra I have never experienced before and it worked very well.
The location is central and an easy to stroll to restaurants and the waterfront. There is a lovely beach 15mins walking distance over a small hill to help walk off the holiday excesses. And Russell is the loveliest spot in the Bay of Islands with its gorgeous colonial style housing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed two nights here. The hosts are eager to make the stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts are excellent, the rooms are quiet, comfortable and very clean. The lodge is at walking distance (3 minutes) from the beach and some excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed a very special 3 night stay at the Flagstaff Lodge over Christmas. The accommodation was beautiful, very clean, comfy, peaceful and spacious. Ruth and Jessie were wonderful hosts who made delicious breakfasts and canapes to accompany a glass of wine as a pre-dinner treat! They were also great sources of information on where to eat and activities to enjoy in the surrounding area, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We would thoroughly recommend Flagstaff Lodge having just spent a delightful 5 days there over the Christmas period. The period home features large stylish suites, each decorated slightly differently. They are very spacious yet still manage to feel cosy. The common areas of the house are likewise stylish and gracious. The house is just a short stroll into the heart of the village or along the waterfront and yet seems very quiet. Our hosts cooked us a beautiful breakfast each day, attended to all our needs and shared pre dinner canapes and local wines each night. Ruth and Jessie were also wonderful sources of information about the area, booking us in to local restaurants and suggesting a range of local activities that all proved to be most enjoyable. We will definitely stay there again as we have rarely had such a relaxing and personalised stay anywhere.




the town, the house is perfectly positioned

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Address: 17 Wellington Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagstaff Lodge is a fully modernised 1912 villa providing luxury boutique accommodation in the heart of charming Russell. Featuring contemporary style, NZ art, local wine & delicious food with relaxed, personal attention from your hosts. The Lodge offers four spacious en-suite rooms and a guest lounge – each uniquely styled – a relaxing courtyard and a boutique day spa offering massage and beauty treatments using premium Thalgo and OPI products. Just a 1 minute stroll from the seafront, the Lodge is the perfect, luxury base from which to enjoy Russell and the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.