We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Russell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arcadia Lodge
Save
You added Arcadia Lodge to your Saves list
10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at the Arcadia Lodge at the beginning of April 2014. The Tautoru suite was a wonderful and very aesthetic room with a private patio. David and Brad make sure that the guests are warmly welcome, but also have their own privacy. The level of detail David and Brad achieve (with respect to the food and the room) is amazing. The food is organic and very delicious. During our trip to New Zealand we stayed at various B&Bs, but the Arcadia Lodge was our favorite.

C and N

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
153
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Brad and David, for your hospitality during our stay. We had such a lovely time in your beautiful home and quaint little town. I have been raving to everyone I know about Arcadia Lodge. Firstly, for the stunning view that greeted us from our bedroom window each morning. We fell in love with your beautiful home which was in immaculate condition, not to mention every piece of furniture that created such a homey and cosy atmosphere. Your amazing home made cereal which I absolutely loved and had 2 helpings of each morning plus fruit salad plus toast and homemade jam and on top of the delicious hot breakfast that you both whipped up each morning! Your ricotta hotcakes with strawberries and bananas were to die for. It was such a wonderful experience and swimming with the dolphins topped it off for us. Thank you for being a part of it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This little gem gave us the perfect end to our 5 weeks in New Zealand. Brad and David are excellent hosts and provide an excellent standard of service as well as good recommendations for food, walks and activities. Our room was very comfortable and we loved the period decor and especially the chance to have breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea.

Food excellent and the home made preserves as well as the variety of food offered at breakfast made it a real hit.

Room Tip: They are all lovely and nicely different
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beautiful views, elegant and tasteful decor, unobtrusive but attentive hospitality, restful and thoroughly charming, we had a lovely stay at Arcadia Lodge which fully lives up to it's name. There are lovely gardens, home made biscuits and hosts with a fund of local knowledge to advise you about the best walks, sailing trips and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony/view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed three nights and our room - Takurua - could not have been nicer: great view over the harbor, spacious private bathroom just across the hall (the only other room upstairs has its own bath), very comfortable bed. The other upstairs room - Ranginui - is nice but without the great view and with a small private bath. David and Brad are perfect hosts with all the info and suggestions you need and breakfasts done with style out on the deck. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the world and Arcadia is up at the top. Follow the website directions and the parking area is easy to find; 10 minute level walk to town through a residential neighborhood. If you want quiet elegance away from the busyness of Russell but within easy reach of the restaurants and ferry with great hosts, Arcadia is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited in mid January. From the moment we arrived it was clear that we were going to enjoy this elegant B and B. Hosts David and Brad provide a discreet and very welcoming service. Everything was spotless and attention to detail obvious. The homemade biscuits were delicious only surpassed by the gourmet breakfasts! The view from our room and the terrace was beautiful. The town with its excellent restaurants and facilities is only a short walk away and it is easy to walk to beautiful Long Beach. Russell is the perfect place to enjoy all The Bay of Islands has to offer. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in many B & Bs on our visit and they were a kaleidoscope of delights. The setting of this lodge was not idyllic like some but the setting was wonderful and far enough from the town to be peaceful. Above all David and Brad provide a quiet and excellent service, ever helpful. The breakfasts were a surprise each day. The bedrooms lounge and balconies were just the job, tastefully decorated and with those little touches such as Frangipani flowers in dishes. This is a memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.