We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Relaxing Paroa Bay Chalets

Chalet during the day
Chalet during the day
Chalet during the day
View across vineyard to sea
Dining & Kitchen from deck
Mist over the valley
Bedroom opening from deck
Russell
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
goforit00...
Woodstock, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house is in a beautiful place and is beautiful itself. Modern, clean and well equipped. It was everything we wanted for a short stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: modern and clean in a great location
Liked least: only being able to stay a few nights
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review and we very much hope we get the chance to have you stay at Paroa Bay chalets again in the future.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Vanessa S
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I came here with our 1 year old for our first family holiday together. The location was perfect for us as it was out of Russell without being too far away. The three of us traveled out west and did some day walks which were really easy to get to from this location.

Our first thought was that the place was nice. You can tell that the chalet has been done on a budget as the paint job and materials are not amazing. They had everything we needed to cook and do washing etc so that was great with a little one. They had set up a travel cot which was lovely and the bedroom sheeting and towels were nice.

It got cold at night however they had a heat pump in the lounge/kitchen which was great however we had no idea how to work the heaters in the bedrooms so ended up having our child sleep in the same room as us to make it a bit warmer.

We could also hear the guests in the other chalet and it looks like they may be putting another one in between the two that are already there so may get a little bit noisier. However on the plus side at night we could hear birds (kiwis?) which was really nice.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and we would recommend the location however we think it is overpriced for was it is (but this may be that Russell / Northland is an expensive place to travel to for accommodation).

3 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Dear S family,
We are so pleased that Paroa Bay was the perfect location for your first family holiday. We always intended for the chalets to be a home from home, with comfy beds and a kitchen where cooking for the family is an easy pleasure. You are right; it is a little cold here in the winter - even in the winterless North! For guests comfort we have the heat pump in the open plan lounge and in the bedrooms there are energy efficient infrared heat panels. To make these easy to use, we have programmed a set temperature overnight and will be sure to include instructions on their use in the guest information folder. We’ve designed our chalets for our guests, to give the unique opportunity of a relaxing, peaceful and affordable holiday in the beautiful Bay of Islands – for the chance to fall asleep at night to the call of the kiwi and weka.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rhodri198...
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome, awesome, awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Paroa Bay chalets are fantastic accommodation about 15 minutes drive from Russell. We stayed for the Easter weekend and had a great time. My parents were over from the UK and my partner and I stayed there with them. Everything about the stay was perfect - from the wine in the fridge on arrival, to the excellent accommodation to the views and the proximity to the water and Russell. We would definetely stay again!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
Dear R
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and glad your family from the UK had such an enjoyable holiday in beautiful NZ
Hopefully one day you will be able to enjoy another holiday in our amazing part of the world
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MarionBur...
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“New, fully equipped mobile homes on a scenic hilltop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

There are several chalets scattered over a grassy hillside looking across to Paroa Bay and the surrounding vineyards and pastureland. They are very new and we booked ours through airbnb, staying 3 nights. We had instructions on where to find the key (in the key locker) and didn’t meet the owners at all during our stay.

The chalet provided everything we needed: fridge, cooking facilities, washing machine and large drying rack, free wifi, a barbecue on the deck, 2 comfortable double beds each with en suite bathrooms, and a comfy lounge in the central area.

A car is essential to reach the chalets. They are an easy drive from Russell where there is ‘civilisation’ – restaurants, boat trips and a stunningly scenic walk to the headland.

I guess the only potential downside is that the chalet, with all its windows, got very hot during the day, and I would suspect it could get quite cold at night in the cooler seasons.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2014
Hi Marion and the Burkimsher family

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and we really appreciate your feedback. Sorry we couldn't be there to meet you as we were attending a family re-union with Richard's family in the UK.
Just wanted to let you know the two chalets are actually permanent structures and cannot be moved as they have large posts driven into the ground and are then fixed in.

During the winter months the sunshine keeps the chalets very cosy as it is low in the sky and we have infra-red heaters in the bedroom and the heat pump in the lounge to keep them warm overnight. Hopefully one day you might get a chance to come back and experience this in the winter months. We are also having an outside spa installed to enjoy during this time.

Best Regards
The Pearson family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Palmerston North
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Thanks Alex it was a pleasure having you to stay and hope your Dad had a birthday to remember.
We hope to see you again at Paroa Bay chalets in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rico
Germany
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2014
Hi Rico
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we would be very happy to welcome you back to the beautiful bay of islands one day in the future...
Cheers
Claire & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
West Hoathly Nr East Grinstead
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you to the Gillam family
We really enjoyed having you stay too and hope you can make it back deep down under in the near future

Cheers Claire, Rich and Tess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$270
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Claire P
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing