We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ounuwhao Harding House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ounuwhao Harding House to your Saves list
Ounuwhao Harding House
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Hope Ave | Matauwhi Bay, Russell, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Russell is a stunning place to stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands . The Ounuwhao Harding House is in a perfect location just a short stroll from the centre of Russell and also from a lovely unspoiled beach (Long Beach).The house is full of character with every convenience imaginable but what made our stay so special was Marilyn. She cared for our every need and her breakfasts were simply fabulous - each one was a delightful creation. Fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Many thanks Sheila and John. LOVED having you to stay and so glad you enjoyed your whole Russell Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our company had a mid-winter xmas function at Ounuwhao Harding House. Marilyn and Lee served us exceptional hospitality and food! They were very accommodating with our needs and requirements which resulted in everyone having an awesome weekend. The setting was a beautiful, warm character house with gorgeous surroundings. We couldnt have wanted for anything. We highly recommended this venue. Wendy and Barry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely amazing food & hospitality in an historical NZ home. Very clean tidy, well presented home and it was a pleasure to be able to stay and enjoy the friendly atmosphere in such amazing surroundings.

My wife and I recommend Ounuwhao Harding House to all kiwi's and travellers - excellent value for money.

Mark & Aroha (NZ)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Great that you had such a good time here and I think we ALL enjoyed the friendly camerarderie and we will hope to see you all again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an amazing time at this beautiful B&B. The hosts, Marilyn and Lee, were so great- such lovely and friendly people. The location is serene and peaceful yet handy to everything in the area. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, virtually everything was homemade by the very talented Marilyn. We had a perfect getaway here and would highly recommend it and we hope to return again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Guys, Much appreciate your review and we also think Russell and OUNUWHAO is indeed a great get-a-way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After never having stayed in a B&B before I couldnt have asked for a more perfect first impression! From the beautifully restored wood work to the warmth from the wood fire, it was like id stepped back in time, yet into pure comfort and felt instantly relaxed!
All this was then made even better when I walked into the gorgeous dining room the next morning for what can only be described as a pure culinary delite, all this added to the fantastic surroundings, and Perfect hosts makes this a "must do",when visiting Russell, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We LOVED having your family to stay and hearing how much you appreciated everything was "just the icing on the cake"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed the warm welcome, augmented by tea and home baking on the verandah. This traditional heritage house oozed charm combined with quality. Furnishings and fittings were antique and all worked perfectly. Tapestries, quilts and cushions were exquisite and all made by our hostess, Marilyn, a very talented lady. The garden, another of Marilyn's talents, was beautifully relaxing and filled with a huge variety of fruit trees, the produce of which, was much in evidence at breakfast. There can be no better way to start a day than to have the wonderful breakfast (everything was home made) in that lovely warm traditional kitchen.
We stayed in a delightful bedroom at the back of the house. Gorgeous fresh roses added to the ambience. All the floors, and much else in the house, were made from kauri wood which had such a warm rich colour - and not a creak could be heard. The house was positioned just across the road from a lovely little bay, used by the local yacht club and the walk into the centre of Russell took a pleasant 10 or 15 minutes. Parking was just outside the garden gate.
This is a wonderful place to stay. If you get the opportunity to stay here, don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

if you want perfection this it, lovely breakfast ,walking distance to Russell Marilyn a perfect hostess .Great wine on arrival Marilyn has great knowledge of the history of Russell Very relaxing away from busy Auckland

Room Tip: choose a room with own ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Address: 16 Hope Ave | Matauwhi Bay, Russell, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ounuwhao Harding House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.