We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Russell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Russell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Bought a grab one deal but unbeknown to me my daughter paid for an upgrade to a very luxurious king suite overlooking the bay which was gorgeous with a huge spa bath comfy bed and heaps of room. Staff were very welcoming & friendly throughout our 2 day stay. Great food and a lovely atmosphere. Totally recommend the Duke!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay & wharf would definitely be my preference..fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    128
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
299
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thank you Duke of Marlborough for providing us the perfect 1 night getaway. We live/work in Paihia and even though we came just across the water it felt like we were a million miles away.
The receptionist was pleasant and helpful right from the time we made the reservation, to checking us in and out. So nice to get actual proper service!
As we had just worked a huge weekend we decided to spoil ourselves and upgraded our room. It was well worth the little extra money. Stunning!
Dinner was equally awesome. We live and breath food, and the food here reached all expectations! Delicious! Cant wait to come back.
Thanks so much.
Clint and Sasha
Krave Catering Paihia

Room Tip: If you can definitely recommend upgrading to a seaview/beachfront room. The views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place to stay in Russell. Our room was really nice and clean and we had a great big window with a view to the water.
We had dinner down in the restaurant and the quality of the food was superb!
Breakfast the next morning was an array of toast, muffins, crumpets and fruit and a big selection on tea.
Hallways are quite noisy at night im assuming that was due to a function downstairs that night and people were finishing up late.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A great winter experience, room at the front with a great view, not too crowded, and good staff. We will certainly return. Russell is a quiet place, but there is always something to do. The walks are great, and the oysters perfect.

Room Tip: We had a 'front room #2', which I think may be a little noisy in summer, in winter, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hi there

Would just like to thank all the staff and especially the owners of the Duke of Marlborough for kindly giving us 2 nights accommodation and meals in conjunction with "Win a Wish" The Breeze radio station 93.4. We had a lovely Balcony room which was just beautiful, especially at night looking out at all the lights. Meals were beautiful and the staff couldnt do enough for us, even when we had to go early Saturday morning to go for our day trip out on the "Dolphin Seeker" Fullers Cruise, they prepared a breakfast for us in our room. If you want a beautiful location, good service and lots of activities available we highly recomend you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

2nd time in a couple of years we have stayed at The Duke, and both have been great times. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was nice and comfortable and sun burnt our eyes in the morning streaming in. Had a 2 night deal which included a dinner, which was delicious and plenty of it. Whole area is great and staying here is the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had a Grabone night at the Duke. Lovely from the minute we arrived. Receptionist offered an upgrade & well worth it for balcony room on North east side. Food, restaurant excellent with log fire. What more could you ask for.
We are local Bay residents and proud to see a local business offering a value for money stay.
Ross & Jude.

Room Tip: North East side balcony rooms. Early morning sun on the deck. Sea views from lounge & deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our newly refurbished waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary continental breakfast is served to guests in the morning. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.