We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in room 4 for one night. The room was wonderful! We had a huge bathroom and great big leather armchairs which we could sit at and overlook the lovely bay. We also had a lovely deck and luckily great weather to enjoy it.
We ate dinner at the restaurant which was as you would expect... Pricey but worth every dollar!
Friendly staff also made our stay great and the complimentry breakfast was very good!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    129
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
300
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

There was a wedding on so was very busy, which was fine. The waiting staff were wonderful. There was no chicken and only snapper for choice of fish they had run out of evrything else. Our order came within mins which we were shocked by. My husbands steak was very undercooked. My fish was very dry. It was nice but not wonderful considering the price. If you are very hungry you will need all three courses. The wine waiter (guy dressed in black) made the whole evening feel so rushed by rushing around like a crazy man and being short with his staff and very bosy, so you felt you were not welcome to stay very long. too many nice places to eat in russell so wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel with my wife and six year old daughter. The service was warm, friendly and excellent. Food in the restaurant was great - we had both dinner and breakfast. The only downside was that the bathroom was extremely small and cramped. I couldn't even open or close the shower door without opening the bathroom door.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived late afternoon on Friday 25 April for a two nights stay. Greeting and into the room was easy. It was a lovely break over a long weekend that was made easy by the general friendliness and hospitality provided at the Duke.

Room Tip: We had a large room at the back which was lovely. The pillows were a little hard for me but otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed here for a few days in February. I have visited Russell many times, and have eaten at the Duke on many occasions, but this was my first stay. It's a lovely old building, with fantastic public areas and lots of history. The location is spectacular, right on the waterfront. The food is excellent, although when I stayed there was no cooked breakfast, just continental. However there are many cafes close by, so this wasn't a big issue. The rooms are basic and comfortable. I think I had one of the smaller rooms, and the view was over the yard of the building next door, which wasn't great. Some rooms open out on to a deck area, which I would have preferred. The wireless is OK, not super fast, but ok for email. Generally, the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or a one that opens to a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

One night only, room 5. Fabulous room, very tastefully decorated, large, good en suite facilities.
Big choice of in room Tea bags, sadly all were fruit flavored, no English Breakfast.
Staff were unfailingly attentive and happy, very nice dinner menu...book a table on the balcony edge if the weather is warm enough. The view from the room was superb, but I guess could be noisy pre midnight in the high season, but that would be the payoff for the best location in town.
Tons of parking, no porter service. Continental breakfast was quite basic but adequate, awful coffee. The hotel not 5 star (no turn down service/towel replacement at night) but this is obviously reflected in the price. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Quaint hotel with fantastic location on the waters edge. We chose the standard size room and this comfortably fitted a cot. The balcony rooms looked amazing as we walked past and they were being cleaned.

The bed quality was sufficient, it was not special nor uncomfortable. The in-room tv, fridge, kettle and teas/coffees were all fine. The bathroom was well appointed with a full vanity unit which was useful with washing bottles, etc with an infant.

The breakfast spread in the morning was nice - bland after 3 mornings. All staff were pleasant and accommodating for our daughter.

A couple of notes - there is no fan/air conditioning in the rooms and we experienced it being somewhat stuffy. To access the accommodation you need to go up a staircase, this would pose an issue with those who have mobility issues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our newly refurbished waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary continental breakfast is served to guests in the morning. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.