We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wirral
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Perfect.simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything. A picture perfect location on the bay front, colonial architecture, spacious rooms, good breakfasts and a top restaurant. If there is a fault I didn't spot it. Paid 175 NZ£ a night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    156
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
347
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We can't fault the Duke of Marlborough. We stayed in a sun terrace room. Newly decorated room, spacious, clean, comfortable and the best place to eat in Russell. Fabulous location. Beautiful sunsets and restaurant/bar overlooking the water. Highly recommend the shoulder of lamb and the fish and chips. Both 5 star quality food. Breakfast was also great - fresh and tasty.
My only criticism was that we couldnt buy a pint and sit on the beach (all tables were taken) but that's not the Duke's fault there was a liquor ban in certain areas. ;-) would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Duke of Marlborough is world famous (in NZ at least). It's a landmark building in Russell on the waterfront with a spectacular view. Like me, many Kiwis may recall the hotel when it was under different ownership and a little rowdy and run down but let me tell you, the present owners have worked their magic on this grand old lady and she's just magnificent.
It's clear from the moment you step into the cool reception area that the hotel has been spruced up with grace and style without losing any sense of the wonderful history that the Duke is famous for. I stayed in a waterfront room which was comfortable and elegant (cool white decor, comfy arm chairs, crisp cotton sheets and a selection of pillows); the ceiling fan was most welcome during the hot summer night. I appreciated all the little details that make staying in a hotel special - fluffy bathrobe, shortbread biscuits, "posh" tea and coffee; decent selection of cable TV channels, small bar fridge.
The waterfront rooms face west so spectacular sunsets are part of the deal and although my room didn't have a balcony, it was nice to throw the windows open and hear the sounds of ferries coming and going, and the chatter of people enjoying a meal/drink on the verandah.
From the person that I spoke to when making my reservation to the reception staff (thank you for the panadol!) to the staff on duty at breakfast, everyone was friendly and helpful. Everything about the Duke is quality and everyone should stay here at least once to experience it for themselves. I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went here for a friends wedding and it was excellent, food was beautiful, rooms nice and clean. Great location and service was very good. Handy to have the reception downstairs so was able to slowly wander up the stairs to the room after a lot of good times and drinks!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Duke. Good service, friendly staff. Wonderful location. Our rooms wew small but very clean and the beds were comfortable. Dinner at the reataurant was very good. We all enjoyed our meals.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Duke on a recommendation from friends and I'm happy to say our friendship will be enhanced by the experience! The location is unbeatable and the facilities probably the best in town. We also enjoyed a great meal and a few good drinks (craft beer for me at least). Highly recommended.

ps: Would only ask that they obtain a portrait of the duke himself to grace the foyer. Was a little strange to see one of Captain Cook - but none of John Churchill himself!

Room Tip: Front rooms are best (for views) - but any are fine (as you don't spend too much time in them an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a lovely location. We had a room, no 4, overlooking the bay which we loved. Sun set in the evening from our balcony was great. Staff very friendly. Food was very very good. The oysters were amazing. Would we stay here again, no question, yes. The only let down was their breakfast being continental was a little poor, and they could definitely improve on it, but it's not enough for us to not want to stay there again. Lady on reception was brilliant sorting our bay cruise out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our newly refurbished waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary continental breakfast is served to guests in the morning. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.