We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Save Saved
You added Duke of Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Russell
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We recently held our wedding at The Duke and every part was perfect! Our guests all had a fantastic time and have all commented on the wonderful food, drinks and service. We couldn't have asked for more for our day, Jenny is wonderful, we will be back every year for our anniversary. I wouldn't change a thing about our day, the staff were accommodating and always happy to help with whatever we requested or needed and we even had gifts and very nice champagne on our bed when we returned to our room post wedding. Thanks you all for making our day perfect!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, waterfront would be my pick though - stunning view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    109
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
253
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Duke. friendly staff ( thanks Abbey) were engaging and helpful. Small room is pretty small but more than adequate. When in beautiful Russel you don't want to spend too much time inside. Food was very tasty and well presented. Will definitely return,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch after a magnificent cruise through the Bay of Island to Hole in the Wall Island. It was a bright sunny day and we got a perfect table by the shoreside. We ate a delicious lunch of Buillabaise and Seared Tuna with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc served by a delightful waitress from Hamburg. What a perfect setting but then wham, bang, kerrang the workmen moved in to change the blinds. One poor couple were made to move away and we had clatter, electric sawing and all sorts in our faces. I spoke to the restaurant manager who didn't even know the workmen were coming but she apologised that our perfect lunchtime meal was ruined. Can you believe the sheer arrogance of the senior management at this establishment that schedule workmen in the middle of the lunchtime service?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location on the waterfront at Russell, with the outlook over the anchored boats towards Waitangi is magical, especially on a quiet evening as the sun sets. There is a special ambiance on the lovely deck with a happy mix of tourists and locals relaxing with a drink or enjoying a meal.We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights and the friendly service was outstanding. Our room did not have the sea view but we knew this in advance and was very good value. It still had a pleasant outlook and was peaceful.
The hotel is lovingly run and a complete and refreshing change from faceless corporate chains. It has great character and long may this last. The food seems to be consistently of good quality.
We recommend that any visitor to New Zealand should include this hotel in their itinerary.
Peter and Patricia

Room Tip: If you have not been to Russell before, try to get a room on the front because you are unlikely to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

An old hotel that has been sympathetically updated. Our room was very attractive and bed very comfortable. Good bathroom. Rooms not very well insulated -- one could hear next door noise. Good kitchen. Pleasant staff. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived unannounced in Russell and headed straight to the Duke. We ordered lunch and inquired about the availability of a room. The only room available was one with a sea view - a little more pricey than we'd hope for, but well worth it. Great accommodation, friendly staff and good food. Loved the ambiance and style.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed here over many years & found it just as charming as always. Staff were helpful & friendly, food great. Oysters magnificent! Get off the ferry pick a seat out front in the sun at The Duke of Marlborough, order your wine & food, & don't move until you have to leave. Wander to your room & repeat & repeat ... We stayed in a basic room upstairs this visit, it opened on to a sunny deck, with outdoor setting, with lovely decor. The weather was beautiful, so the doors could remain open. No air-conditioning, so air flow it was. Can get warm through the night in the small rooms but it was very adequate. The shower was the best I used in NZ, in fact better than home. Double bed was not the best for comfort. Yes, this was a room above the kitchen & I thought we were sitting above the engine on a plane. This however stopped when the kitchen finished. Then the chimes of the bottles from the nights bar & restaurant entering the bin .... & all was silent. All in all, we'd return again any time & still choose to stay here.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of rooms on Trip Advisor & ask to see them on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our newly refurbished waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary continental breakfast is served to guests in the morning. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.