We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pompallier Mission and Printery

Pompallier Mission and Printery
The Strand, Russell, New Zealand
+64 9-403 9015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Russell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pompallier Mission, where Catholic missionaries translated religious texts into Maori, printed and bound them into beautiful books, was a saintly enclave in the most sinful site of the southern seas. In what is undoubtedly one of the best heritage tours in the country, our passionate guides will take you through the steps of leather and book-making as it was done by courageous pioneers living in this tiny outpost, over 150 years ago. Hear the stories of the lives and times of French missionaries caught up in British Treaty-making and war between Maori and European settlers. Delight in our award winning heritage gardens, take in the wonderful views across the Bay and browse our gift shop for a unique reminder of a special place.
Bingley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fascinating history of the printing and binding of bibles here in the 19 th century. We had a very good guide and we got free entry as we were members of the National Trust

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    41
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Correze
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were not quite sure of this visit but so glad we dd not miss it. The guide was so informative and interesting. Do not miss the guided tour!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do the guided tour............ it's so worth it........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have visited Pompalier House a few times over the years and it just keeps on getting better...... did the tour this visit only because it was starting when we arrived.............. and boy was it great, well worth doing, the history of the area, the building and those that lived there as told by our guide was amazing........

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“What a fascinating tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Whatever else you do in the area, don't miss visiting the Pompallier Mission and do take the guided tour. The ladies running the tours know so much about what took place at the mission and present it so well. They even demonstrate the whole printing and book-binding processes and that makes the history come very much to life. They also give some fascinating insights as to some well known terms and sayings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“History you can see working in this day and age.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great value fun relaxing. Interactive history.

Really amazing to see how books are made in the 1800's in NZ! The working museum is simply amazig.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompallier Mission and Printery also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Pompallier Mission and Printery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompallier Mission and Printery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.