We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering rather than resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eagles Nest to your Saves list
Eagles Nest
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   60 Tapeka Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Self catering rather than resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. Since there are only two of us it works out quite expensive for what you get. Even if you have 3 couples sharing one of their houses it is $800++ per couple per night. and it is self catering breakfast and quite expensive if you get a chef in to provide other meals. Ok the property is nice and the location and views spectacular -but it seems quite expensive to me. It would definitely suit a celeb type where privacy is essential. Having said all this the staff are very friendly and helpful. Next time I'd try elsewhere. Spending this sort of money I'd prefer to stay at Kauri Cliffs which is a completely different class of place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
47
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

From the moment we entered the beautiful surrounds of the Eagles Nest we felt at home. The stunning views complemented the luxury accommodation. We soaked up the ambience of the Eagle spirit for three fabulous days sipping Champagne and treating ourselves to freshly picked strawberries. Thank you so much Callum for everything you wrapped my birthday present in gold and spoilt me. Thank you very very much we will be back soon. Deb & Gav

Room Tip: Leave the curtains open to wake up to paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a magical location. Our first trip to the Bay of Island and will be hard to beat. William was a very attentive host and Tama was a great chef on both nights.
Really loved the view, pool, peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 3 bedroom Eyrie, very nice, well equipped and plenty of room with a large deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Simply stunning, absolutely beautiful inside and out. A once in a lifetime experience, so much more than we could have imagined. Views to die for, couldn’t imagine a nicer place in the world to wake up to. We had a fabulous time, the staff /chefs were incredibly welcoming and friendly.
Truly a little piece of paradise and a little closer to heaven than was suggested. We will be back.
Thank you so much Callum
Pete and Robyn Whale & Cheryl & Mike Lyons

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've admired Eagles Nest for years, while bobbing about fishing in the Bay, and last weekend, a group of us were lucky enough to stay!
We were in Eagles Spirit, which sleeps 6. There's a spa and a stunning infinity pool. Suffice to say we made good use of these.
The house is immaculate and beautifully done, with everything you could possibly need. William met us when we arrived and showed us round. ( I'd like to thank him profusely for the second bottle of champagne!) He was lovely.
We were lucky enough that one of our group is an amazing chef, so we didn't make use of the personal chef but I've heard wonderful things about the food they can do.

The views from Eagles Nest are absolutely stunning. The weather was kind to us as well. There is absolutely nothing to fault about this place, it's sheer perfection. I'd recommend anyone coming to New Zealand to stay there if you possibly can. It's what special treats are made of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Russell is the crown of the Bay of Islands and Eagles Nest no doubt is its principal jewel. We stayed in the 3-bedroom Eyrie, which was spacious and luxurious: views of the bay from every room, DVD library, gas fire for when it was cold and everything you could want from the kitchen if you chose to use it. I would love to rave about the views but sadly we had 3 days of mist and rain, and never saw them properly (one day we will return!).

Like some other reviewers we chose to have dinner cooked for us the night we arrived: this was very high quality, well-timed and unobtrusive and included possibly the nicest bottle of wine we had in 3 weeks touring round (including 3 days of wine tasting). Other than this we ate in local restaurants and made use of the magic Eagles Nest fridge which filled itself with magnificent breakfast provisions every day.

A development this high-end could perhaps do with a gym on site: they do provide access to one but it's a drive off the property and situated in the basement of a private house. I did manage a couple of runs which were pretty but exhausting as the only way you can go is up/down a 1 in 4 hill to the village of Russell.

The price was very high at over NZ$2000 a night (and the presidential villa is $10,000+): I can perhaps see why the whole thing appears to be for sale because lovely though the Bay of Islands is, NZ is a little remote and not exactly dripping with wealth so it's probably not sustainable. If cash isn't an issue though, do indulge and enjoy a stay here, it's quite the best.

Room Tip: There's not a bad unit here: decide if you want view or access to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend two nights staying in the First Light villa at Eagles Nest. It is undoubtedly one of the loveliest places I've stayed - the design and architecture is world-class and everything about the experience is exquisite: from the use of your own dedicated spa-pool and mini-sauna and fully equipped kitchen, to a great wireless home-theatre system (although we did swiftly get bored with satellite TV and were reduced to watching DVDs from the hotel's DVD library). Because the larger villa next to ours was not being used, we got to enjoy its spa-pool and spectacular infinity-pool. Felt like a movie-star the entire time!
The location is simply gorgeous and views – particularly of the sunrise and sunset – were beautiful.

Just a warning - if you want to see or be around other people, this is NOT the place for you - it is completely discreet and private (in fact we didn't even know that some of the other villas were occupied!)

The very quaint town of Russell is just minutes away and I was impressed that it seems to have retained its charm despite the popularity of the location. I must point out though, that we visited outside peak season, so the experience of Russell may be different in tourist season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagles Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest

Address: 60 Tapeka Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Nest 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Nest is a multi award winning retreat overlooking the spectacular Bay of Islands. The 75 acre estate offers five world class luxury villas. Each offering; private heated infinity edge lap pool (excl First Light Villa), jacuzzi, air conditioning, home theater system. Talented chefs prepare cuisine featuring regional delicacies matched with New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Eagles Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagles Nest Hotel Russell
Eagles Nest Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.