We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise with the water at your doorstep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hananui Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hananui Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Hananui Lodge Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 York Street | P O Box 16, Russell 0242, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise with the water at your doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Recently stayed two nights and was very impressed. The motel is meticulously spotless, modern and well equipped and perfectly positioned withe the beach right at your door. We were welcomed by the staff and they bent over backwards to make our stay a memorable one. Just a stones throw from beautiful restaurants, who wouldn't be impressed . A beautiful picturesque town that we'll be back to. This is not the first time I've stayed at Hananui, and it wont be the last.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We recently stayed stayed in one of the front units, which had stunning views, and the room was spotless. Very comfotable stay. The hosts Rongo and John were wonderful, so friendly and helpful.
Will definetly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous location with fantastic hosts, we had a wonderful time walking Cape Brett and coming back to the lodge to relax and enjoy the wonderful surroundings. Russell has so much history & the quaint village has a peaceful feeling. You'll love the modern facilities & the charming hosts Rongo & John.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

From the welcome at the door to the minute we left, we had the most amazing experience. Our spotlessly clean room with modern furnishings looked over looked the water so we had the sounds of the sea which was very relaxing.

Would love to come back with the family and to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I recently stayed in one of the apartments for two nights. The service provided by the managers was without fault, and the apartment was the cleanest I have ever experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Hananui Lodge has 2 facilities. One is on the beach and some of those rooms have ocean viewes. The other is across the street from the beach with no ocean views. Since we traveled a long way, we decided it would have been better to take an ocean view. The facilities were modern, clean, comfortable, roomy. There was free parking and good internet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

A family trip of Northland with my Mum and sister in celebration of Mum's 60th was made all the more amazing by our four night stay in Russell and the fantastic accommodation and hospitality of Hananui Lodge.

We could not recommend a better, more beautiful, friendlier, local place to stay in Northland, and through our day trips of sublime scenery of the areas, we were thrilled to return to our "home" in Russell each day.

You could not meet nicer, more helpful managers than John and Rongo. John was a resource of (honest) knowledge for our days' adventures, and his advice was perfect.

The accommodation was perfect for three 'singles' (and would be for any combination of travellers) - big open living area, kitchen with all necessary amenities, large main bedroom, sofa bed and spare single (brought in for us) in living, lovely clean bathroom, and balcony. We all had heaps of space in the apartment with a bonus view. The place was spotless, clean and fresh.

Do yourself a favour and spend some time in Russell with its beautiful beaches, inlet, shopping and dining, and spend some time with John and Rongo at Hananui.

Megan, Lisa & Dianne

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Address: 4 York Street | P O Box 16, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the Waterfront of picturesque Russell the Hananui Lodge provides the only separate bedroom accommodation on Russell’s waterfront. Quality accommodation including two mobility units. Ground floor and upper levels all with balconies or courtyards. Spa, laundry, ample client parking, SKY TV, Fishing Charters. And across the road, completed in January 2007 are the stunning Hananui Apartments, still just 50 metres from the waters edge. Handy to Cafes, restaurants and shops and local museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hananui Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.