We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza a la Da Baffetto Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hone's Pizza, Salad & Beer Garden

Hone's Pizza, Salad & Beer Garden
10 York St, Russell, New Zealand
094037670
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 18 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy authentic wood fired pizzas, salads, local seafood and fresh wraps in Hone's sheltered garden. A great place for a casual meal, families with children or a beer in the sun.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza a la Da Baffetto Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Best pizza in NZ, if you like crusty thin pizza, instead of pizzahut toasted bread.
In a nice atmosphere, garden, friendly, relaxed music.
Missed ansjovis and ice for the pinot noir ( nz drink their pinot noir, red limonade, warm!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    42
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Satisfied us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Two of us went here for dinner on a Sunday night. Good selection and not just pizza. We knew it would take a little time as it is wood fired. Pizza was tasty as were the fries. The beer was cold too! Not very busy there so service was ok. Liked the casual out door sitting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unhappy customer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

On arriving we were told there would be a short wait for our order. Thinking it would be only 15-20 minute wait we said that was fine and placed our order. We waited for 1hr 15min for 2 pizza's. When they arrived the order was incorrect. The person who delivered the pizza to our table didn't even seem to know which pizza was which. No manager came out to apologise, nothing offered to compensate for incorrect order. VERY POOR.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty pizzas, pretty courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I like my pizzas thin and crispy and so do Hone's apparently. Good range of gourmet toppings as well as some good non-pizza options like wraps and calamari. Nice big shady courtyard to kick back in and enjoy a drink which is good as service is a bit too relaxed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went with a large group when they were already busy. Woodfire pizza always takes time, however the waiting period was over an hour! We were starving and had hungry children. The manager was accommodating and they did make a great pizza. Loved the beetroot, Walnut, goat's cheese pizza. Just be prepared to wait. Great casual dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hone's Pizza, Salad & Beer Garden also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Hone's Pizza, Salad & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hone's Pizza, Salad & Beer Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.