We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough

Duke of Marlborough
35 The Strand, Russell, New Zealand
+64 94037829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent ambience and food -and wine! Had a great time catching up with friends. Staff also great. The setting and associated views are stunning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    220
    55
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Food is a cut above. We were knocked out by the size and taste of the oysters.Very nice traditional dining room and great Bay views from the verandah.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed dining at the Hotel! Our oysters are fantastic and locally sourced from Orongo Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality dining in a remote location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found this restaurant by chance and were glad of our luck. The food was delicious and well presented and we enjoyed our meal. The interaction with the service staff was a bit impersonal but this did not marr the experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We particularly enjoyed the fresh snapper and the service was amazing. One of the better restaurants we have ever been to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
What fantastic feedback – we are absolutely delighted that you had a great dinner – our fish of the day is one of the favourites on the menu – you can’t beat fresh fish when you are in Russell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangonui
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Uncooked chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited this absolutely beautiful and picturesque restaurant @ 6 pm on a Sunday evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had not booked so were seated in the bar for 15 minutes while they checked with the maitre de. The restaurant was about 1 /3 full . All that was fine and we appreciated the surroundings. Once seated the service was prompt and friendly but THERE was no Duke of Marlborough SIGNATURE dish left!!!( we had chosen this place on recommendation of this dish) Disappointed I ordered chicken which when it arrived was barely warm and the chicken undercooked ( I can handle pink ! But not blood! ) we advised the waitress when she collected the plates and the maitre de did give us a discount ! BUT this is a top class restaurant , we were celebrating a birthday and that combined with no Signature dish made this a disappointing evening ,discounts don't make it right!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback regarding your experience at The Duke. I am sorry that you didn’t have a great experience when dining here and it is disappointing we didn’t have our signature dish available – it is a very popular dish and is often pre-booked by our regular diners, due to the dish taking 14 hours to slowly cook , we do occasionally run out of this dish.
In terms of the Poulet au Vin chicken dish, the chicken is marinated in red wine for three days and slowly cooked over 12 hours, this does mean that the flesh does take on the colour of the red wine, so it no longer presents as the classic white you may have expected, perhaps our maître d did not explain this to you clearly enough on the night of your dining. Its a pity the matter was not bought to our attention until the end of the meal as we were unable to view this for ourselves.
Please rest assured you did not consume “undercooked bloody chicken”. I hope that you do come back and experience our restaurant again as we work very hard to make sure we live up to our expectations of being a top class restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.