We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show me your guns big boy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diggers Restaurant, RSA

Diggers Restaurant, RSA
1 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
+64 9-403 7773
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Show me your guns big boy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were travelling back from the far North to Orcland and stopped off at Paihia, grabbed a ferry, and shot over to Russell for lunch.

This place surprised me. It has all the estoreric charm of a Freemasons Lodge with the modern features like a massive outdoor area.

The food surprised me. RSA's are normally known for their fish and chips, steak and chips, pie and chips, sausage and chips, and chips and chips.

There was great variety at a reasonable price and it was fresh and tasty.

Go there. Sign in. Dine in. Have a few beers in the garden. Get the locals to tell you their stories.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are a food snob this is not the place for you. We loved it and I have eaten at some of the best restaurants in the world. The food was basic but very well cooked and well presented given this is a RSL club. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and totally on top of what was going on. You can either sit inside or on benches in a semi outside environment. Value for money could not be bettered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Local and Loving It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food here our table got a good mix of food everyone was happy. Service was a little slow but you could see they were busy and a lot of locals seemed to eat here so was good to see we came to the right place. The history in the buildig was great to learn heaps about the men and women who served this country for freedom.

Thanks Diggers keep it up in the kitchen and on the field.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food at really reasonable prices, alcohol is also really cheap. Definately recommend a visit to anyone who is in Russell

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Club style dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal and felt at home at the restaurant that is part of the Returning Services Association. Recommend this if you want casual good food without the tourist prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggers Restaurant, RSA also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant, RSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diggers Restaurant, RSA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.