We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have one night in Russell eat here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diggers Restaurant, RSA

Diggers Restaurant, RSA
1 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
+64 9-403 7773
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you have one night in Russell eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

We had 2 nights and ate here and at the gables. This was definitely my favourite. I was warned the food is occasionally hit and miss. We definitely had a hit. We dined with another couple and both shared seafood chowder to start. Packed with tasty seafood and a great consistency. Then for main course the others had steak and I had lamb shank on kumara mash. The steaks were apparently heavenly and very well cooked with good chips. The lamb was tasty, though the tomato sauce was nice it was a little average in terns of flavour. The kumara mash was very nice. Pudding for us was a shared berry cheesecake which was amazingly tasty. The atmosphere was wonderful. It was a Saturday night and all the locals were in here, including the policeman! The young couple running the restaurant are lovely and service simple as you order from the counter. Don't go here for fine dining but if you want great food and real atmosphere this is the place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No frills but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The young English chef has made a name for himself since taking over the restaurant about seven months ago. It is excellent food and excellent value. Be prepared to share a table at busy times , but that simply adds to the whole friendly atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Professionalism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Yes, it's the RSA so you will need to sign in but that's a breeze. The menu is of the type where you will like most things on it and the specials board is always interesting. The proprietors are very hard working and very professional. Nothing is too much trouble. Russell locals favour it and dining is a matter of finding a seat at the tables inside or out under the large awning style roof. The draught beer is the best in town and quite a few dollars cheaper than the Pub across the road. High standards all round.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

All you have to do is go in and sign up to be a "member for a day" - honestly this is the best tip in the city! You will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, limited menu but beautifully cooked at very reasonable prices by friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We decided to try Diggers after signing in to the RSA (Returned Services Association) club on the recommendation of our apartment hosts. The restaurant occupies one corner of the RSA club and has seating for around 40 people and you can see what's going on in the kitchen, but don't let this fool you into thinking it's a cheap and cheerful fast food outlet. The menu is not massive but there is mostly something for everyone, cooked to perfection at very reasonable prices compared to local restaurants, and by very friendly staff. We are 3 mature gents and have travelled extensively and all of us agreed this was some of the best restaurant food we have ever had. Oysters especially are highly recommended and their steak and guinness pie is to die for! Well done Rob and the staff for making us welcome every night. We were so impressed the first time we came here that we decided to eat here for the rest of our stay in Russell.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggers Restaurant, RSA also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant, RSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diggers Restaurant, RSA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.