We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accessible and amazing beach access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castles Motel

Castles Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castles Motel to your Saves list
Castles Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very accessible and amazing beach access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Loved this affordable place!!! Highly recommend it! The room was very clean and several restaurants and a few bars were within a short walking distance as well as the best beach!!! Nice staff and they were very helpful.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Well positioned for eateries nearby. All in short walking distance. Thai to McDonalds. Very tidy and well presented. Good parking with security lighting. Beach nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Staff efficient.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room away from the comings and goings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a one bedroom downstairs unit for 10 nights and booked this motel as it has a full kitchen with a practical size fridge. The lounge/dining area was separate from the kitchen and there were brand new recliners in the lounge area. The couple who run the motel were very helpful and professional. Loved the location with only a very short walk to restaurants and the beach.

Room Tip: Room at the rear of the property is quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Castles Motel is well located in the Tahunanui section of Nelson. It is close to a great beach playground where our nine year-old daughter played with several friendly and inclusive Kiwi kids. There are a number of restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area. We found the staff to be professional and attentive.

Room Tip: Close to a nice beach playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I Will never ever come back or recommend! we called in the night before, a bit of a last min booking to see Nelson for a couple of days, to see this amazing place that everyone has told us about. Less then 18 HOURS LATER
We stopped in to check out our room and was hoping to drop off our luggage. There was no one in the office so we rang the bell and no one showed as we looked around it seemed a bit dated! We called an hour later to ask about the rooms the wife said they were updating the rooms and they were getting new couches the following week. we then went to see the rooms as we were concerned. When we arrived the to the room.... I was Thinking we had a spa tub in the room I was surprised to see a small shower in the room as well as the smelled of mold, damp and stale food! a 200$ cancelation fee would apply. I was not impressed at all to pay 200$ for such a room! I told him I would be going somewhere else to stay. He said he was going to "blacklist" us to every hotel and motel in NZ. If I didn't pay the 200$ cancelation fee. This was by far the worst hotel, customer service and down right rudest place ever! Good luck to them running a small outdated motel!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
This is another review from the same source of the previous negative reviews. Please read my response to those reviews below. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Firstly staff are very disrespectful and ignorant it is run by an elderly unpresentable couple and his daughter! Rooms are very dirty and its very unpredictable with what you get. What we saw on the Internet and what we saw in reality were worlds apart. Pictures show rooms with spas but after we enquired to our disappointment only 1 room in the whole place has an actual spa Couches and beds are old and they have only just updated double glazing windows. Staff are incredibly rude and disrespectful it is hard to understand if they even want us to stay there. The owner is just altered with his high ego and obviously doesn't know what his motel looks like. I can now see why this place is never booked we were told the prices were $140 but when we showed up it was over $200! Don't get me wrong Nelson is amazing but my trip was spoiled by rude staff disgusting rooms and a horrific time at the castles motel.
Please do not stay here!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
We have checked all our January bookings and can confirm this reviewer has never stayed at our motel. It is directly linked to the negative review below as it includes references to the discussion held over that cancelled booking. Please read our response to the review below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Don't know where to begin! I would never recommend this place to even an enemy. The rooms are dated and look nothing like the pictures which gave my family and I high expectations. The service was incredibly rude and was prejudice and naïve towards anyone not from New Zealand they told me America was '50 countries in one area' and had 'nothing to do with New Zealand' When we asked to cancel the room politely the owner became defensive and even started pointing his finger to my face! how rude! I was disgusted. The owners told me that the rooms were full yet was able to show me half of the rooms and when we asked how they were fully occupied he responded by telling me 'most people do not arrive til 9 in the evening' which by now was 4 in the evening. There was only one room that was occupied that we could see. This place concludes with false advertisment and incredubly rude service where as being not from New Zealand I would not expect someone to be so nasty towards me and ended up staying at the Rutherford Hotel where service was American quality and rooms were advertised as seen. Good luck to anyone wishing to find a place to stay but do not make a booking here.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
This person cancelled their booking by phone on the day they were due to arrive. While explaining the late cancellation policy and offering not to charge a fee if the room could be re-let she began threatening us with a negative review on Trip Advisor even though she admitted she had never been in any of our rooms or stayed with us. After the cancellation she later arrived asking to see the room booked for her family. They actually had 5 people in their family but had booked for only 4 - the maximum number our family units accommodate. She thought she had booked a spa unit - these units only sleep 3 guests and no mention of a spa unit was made at the time of booking or they would have been told that. She said our whole property was (**expletive**) and she was going to put a negative review on Trip Advisor. Please make your own mind up about this review. We have enjoyed being hosts to several thousand guests from all over the world-many of them have returned to stay more than once with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castles Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castles Motel

Address: 44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castles Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Spacious Units, ranging from Studios to 1 Bedroom Units some with 2 person Spa Baths in the Bedrooms. All Units have Full Kitchen Facilities. Castles Motel is a 200m walk to Tahunanui Beach, 6 minute drive to the City Centre of Nelson and Close to Airport. We are surrounded by numerous Restaurants and Cafes. Try a stay at our Friendly family Run Motel, your Gateway to the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Castles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castles Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.