We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castles Motel

Castles Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castles Motel to your Saves list
Castles Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Westport, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I stayed here for business for three nights. I stayed in a unit that had bedroom and kitchen and spa bath. It was very clean. Close to some excellent restaurants in Tahunanui. I could cook my breakfast and plunger coffee was provided in my room. There was free wifi and I worked at night in my room on the dining table.
The hosts were friendly and very helpful.

I would definitely stay here again when travelling to Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with kitchen and spa bath if you want to prepare some of your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Fantastic stay. Very comfortable and spacious. the Hosts were very friendly and accommodating .Was so delighted with their customer service as I misplaced one of my favourite earrings not realising until well into our trip around the South Island. When arriving home ,there was an email from the motel saying that they found it and were posting it to me. So thankful !would highly recommend to everyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Busy trip down and had to set up for a seminar. What a lovely place to stay. Spotlessly clean, comfy bed, fluffy towels AND all the saucepans matched it was a delight to cook the meals. The first night however we arrived late and there is a lovely place just around the corner to eat. We were on the road for 3 weeks and this was the BEST place.we stayed at. Thank you we shall be back. Great Hosts

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chch new zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

went to nelson in may 2014 via lewis pass from Christchurch and it rained all the way..we arrived without a booking and decided to try our luck up tahunanui drive. this motel looks lovley from outside so while hubby parked the car I went to reception and was greeted by a pleasant man who gave us the spa suite. it has a spa bath in the bedroom and was very luxurious. for 1
$145 a night it was very clean and well presented. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Arrived here late on a Friday night as our flight left Auckland at 8.30pm but we were still able to check in.
The room was spacious, clean and inviting.
Really really really friendly hosts, pointed us in the direction of local bars and gave us discount vouchers for one.
I'd give it 5 stars but we just thought the price (as well as other hotels/motels around Nelson) was quite high given how many motels/hotels and subsequent competition there must be.
But overall really nice hard working hosts and would stay there again most definitely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

recently stayed at this motel in Nelson. Extremely clean and all units were of high standard. There were 9 ladies staying and all commented on how great this motel was. Even the studio had a full sized kitchen in them. Very close to the beach and only max of 10 minutes into Nelson City. 5 Mins to the Airport. The owners were very hospitable and could not do enough for us during out stay.
When we left they gave all the ladies a pen so they could remember the trip to this motel and to Nelson.
Would definately stay here again. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baradine, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This motel is sited in Tahuanuni , 10 minutes from the airport & a short walk to the popular Tahuna Beach. Check in was quick & easy, the hosts welcoming & the rooms all spacious with a full kitchenette & bathroom facilities. Two units have spa baths & are particularly nice & all of the rooms have been refurbished over the past year. There is plenty of off street parking . The motel offers a continental breakfast for $10 pp & is in close proximity to a number of restaurants & cafes, some which has a charge back facility or if you are arriving in the evening ,& the hosts are notified, they will arrange a meal at a local hotel to be ready for you when you arrive - about 5 minutes walk away. The city centre is 10 minutes by car but the buses go past regularly. This motel is very reasonably priced & has the advantage of having a meeting room which can seat up to 15, ideal for meetings etc & the owner tells me catering can be organised.There are a number of room configurations that would suit solo traveller, couples, to rooms big enough for a family This is a very well priced motel & many travellers seem to enjoy it so much that they extend their stay, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs spa suite, at $150 a night it is great value & a lovely big room with easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castles Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castles Motel

Address: 44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castles Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Spacious Units, ranging from Studios to 1 Bedroom Units some with 2 person Spa Baths in the Bedrooms. All Units have Full Kitchen Facilities. Castles Motel is a 200m walk to Tahunanui Beach, 6 minute drive to the City Centre of Nelson and Close to Airport. We are surrounded by numerous Restaurants and Cafes. Try a stay at our Friendly family Run Motel, your Gateway to the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castles Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.