We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Motor Inn to your Saves list
Beaches Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Wellington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I didn't spend too much time searching for the best Motel in Nelson. I thought it will be just a simple layout motel base on the rate quoted to me.

When I arrived at the Motel, I was surprised to see the room was really value for motel. Fully and well equiped. Most importantly, every items in the room is clean and new.

I will recommend anyone to stay here if you are in Nelson. I can't speaks for everyone, but I am sure you will be delighted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, General Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Regards Management 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay during our short trip through Nelson. Couldn't have picked a nicer little place to stay at. Extremely friendly staff which encouraged us to make use of the mountain bikes on a beautiful day. We were both well rested after our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, General Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Great that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made use the mountain bikes. Hope to see you again. Regards Management 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Fairly new motel that was ecconomical and comfortable. We had a studio room with a large spa bath that we could not match by price anywhere else. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet considering that this motel is situated on a main road. We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoy your stay with us. Hope to see you again. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

The rooms are very clean and give you that feeling of being at home. You have the ability to cook your own meals if you need to and I love the spa bath as well.

This is the second time I have stayed there - only problem this time round was that I got a room out to the main road and I am not the best sleeper with road noise. So might pay to ask for a room facing away from the road if you have the same problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Having stayed in about 20 different accomodations around both the North and South Islands of NZ, I can honestly say that this is just about the only one I wouldn't return to. That's unfortunate as it is relatively new, well maintained and clean and has great kitchen facilities for self catering. The big problem is noise. It is on Tahunanui Drive, a main road leading into Nelson's CBD and harbour area. No only does it have a lot, I mean really a lot, of vehicle traffic, much of it is big trucks presumably picking up or dropping off freight at the harbour or perhaps heading on to Picton and the Ferry to the North Island. The units facing the road (I had a 1 bedroom) are less than 20 meters from all that traffic and all the double glazed windows in the world don't provide a barrier to that noise. Even sitting in the sun reading a book in a patio type area at the back of the property was very noisy so I doubt off street units are much better. One other thing, generally I found that motels of this quality had king size beds, this one comes with queens.
Bottom line, lots of good atttributes and if you don't care about noise go for it but if you value being able to have your windows open and getting a good night's sleep, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Modern, Clean and spacious rooms...reasonable rates and friendly staff
Restaurant - Cafe/Bar - Pub all within walking distance
Kfc, Hells Pizza and Mc donalds are across the road
5minute walk to beach and park

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Having visited Nelson several times on business this summer, we found the Beaches Motor Inn far and away the nicest place we stayed. the Host George was very helpful, the room were lovely and the breakfast superb. My only advice is to try to get a room away from the road, even though the windows are double glazed the road is a very busy one. Also reccommend Thai Tahuna or The smugglers Arms down the road for a great meal. :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachesmotorinn, Manager at Beaches Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. 'Beaches' is in a great location being so close to food outlets and the beach, being on a main road we 'pick up' a large number of passing by travelers. Regards Manager 'Beaches'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaches Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Motor Inn

Address: 71 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nelson
#8 Business Hotel in Nelson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Motor Inn provides 5 star quality motel accommodation close to Tahunanui Beach in Nelson.Comprising of 16 architecturally designed purpose-built luxury untis suitable for corporate travellers and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beaches Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.