We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service with high prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Light Bistro

Harbour Light Bistro
341 Wakefield Quay, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
03 546 6685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 131 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Harbour Light Bistro is a locally owned Nelson restaurant based on Wakefield Quay, one of Nelsons beautiful waterfronts. Harbour Light offers a selection of locally and internationally inspired dishes. All dishes are made fresh and our menus change seasonally as we use locally sourced fresh produce when possible for our restaurant. Harbour Light Bistro & Restaurant offers spacious indoor dining with picturesque waterfront views, suitable for large groups or an intimate lunch or dinner for two. Our wines are also locally sourced from Nelson, Tasman and Marlborough regions and are all carefully selected to accompany our many fine dishes. Harbour Light Bistro & Restaurant is open weekdays from 11.30Am to late. On the weekend we open at 9.30 For brunch then through to close with dinner. Please call us on 03 546 6685 for a reservation so as not to be disappointed.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor service with high prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Once again in Nelson it is the service that lets this place down. The upstairs restaurant was full I believe, but were happily settled downstairs in the bar. Again it seemed that two was not enough waiting staff. There was little pro-active attention and rampant confusion when simple cocktails had to be made and when it came to using the espresso machine. Clearly their first day.

The food here was good, lamb rump rare, tender and tasty, snapper fillet perfectly moist and flaky, and the squid and scallops delicious entrees.

Another one not on my list for a return visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Holiday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on the recommendation of the owners of the nearby cottage we were renting with two other friends. It proved to be a great venue for a birthday celebration: interesting local food (we are from Australia) and a good wine list. Very friendly service - we got an excellent table upstairs on a last minute booking. The online booking form didn't function well, and if you are in line for a discount, make sure you remind them before paying!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visiting Nelson decided to use our entertainment book for dinner. After reading some reviews settled on the Harbour Light Bistro and very pleased with our choice. The fresh Nelson scallops with snapper filled ravioli, truffle sauce (if I remember correctly) and warm asparagus salad was absolutely the best seafood meal I have had in years. The angus steak was enjoyed as well but for the man sized meal he should have ordered extra veges or salad. Our waitress was friendly & efficient and the view is spectacular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely view and nice decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Harbour Lights, mostly because we were with family and it was a special occasion. The food was ok, but it was very irritating to have the waiting staff arrive with hands full of plates at each course and stand asking to be told who had ordered what. Service was friendly overall, but not terribly polished,. The scallop entree was the standout dish.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect with wow view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This bistro on the waterfront in Nelson constantly delivers the perfect dining experience. The view of the bay is stunning from the upstairs dining area. The service is spectacular and meals devine. Steve and the team here really take care of diners from start to finish. The kids meals are excellent and this has got to be one of the best splurges around. Wanting that special meal in Nelson - this is the place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Light Bistro also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Harbour Light Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Light Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.