We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stuff =) a delight with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Light Bistro

Harbour Light Bistro
341 Wakefield Quay, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
03 546 6685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 131 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Harbour Light Bistro is a locally owned Nelson restaurant based on Wakefield Quay, one of Nelsons beautiful waterfronts. Harbour Light offers a selection of locally and internationally inspired dishes. All dishes are made fresh and our menus change seasonally as we use locally sourced fresh produce when possible for our restaurant. Harbour Light Bistro & Restaurant offers spacious indoor dining with picturesque waterfront views, suitable for large groups or an intimate lunch or dinner for two. Our wines are also locally sourced from Nelson, Tasman and Marlborough regions and are all carefully selected to accompany our many fine dishes. Harbour Light Bistro & Restaurant is open weekdays from 11.30Am to late. On the weekend we open at 9.30 For brunch then through to close with dinner. Please call us on 03 546 6685 for a reservation so as not to be disappointed.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great stuff =) a delight with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

just stunning. food, service, food flavours and presentation...and the view...whao =) very friendly and knowledged staff and nice wine list! cheers for a nice evening!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    37
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner in great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a great dinner together at our anniversary, everything just fine. Both our steaks were perfect, mine a little bit more pink than my wife's, just as ordered. My wife's onion soup was delicious and my pate was perfect and well sized. The view from the restaurant over the cut is unbeatable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motueka
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great food great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Another lunchtime treat at this lovely bistro. Booked early to ensure a table next to the windows. Well looked after on arrival and given enough time to consider choices. The specials were well explained and the waiter answered all questions regarding the menu. Downside is parking and it is not cheap.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes for service, food, atmosphere and fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Harbour Lights is a small boutique style restaurant overlooking Nelson Harbour and is perfect for a special occasion or just to treat yourself. We were looking for a warm, inviting place to eat on a cold and wet day and found just what we were looking for at Harbour Light. The food was delicious and we enjoyed all courses. The service was faultless and we were made to feel very welcome. The best table is the one at the front of the restaurant with the best views of the harbour and beyond. Lovely.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing fresh blue cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Once again a beautiful evening at Harbour light Bistro , The blue Cod was cooked to prefection and so fresh -literally land that day .Steve seems to get his ingredients so fresh .
great service and amazing lunch time views of the snow capped ranges.
Check out the promotion they are running to win a dinner party at your home for Eight catered for by Steve the owner

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Light Bistro also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Harbour Light Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Light Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.