We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Restaurant & Bar

The Tides Restaurant & Bar
66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
(03) 548-7049
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Nelson
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Motueka, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Go!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a rip off! We ordered an entree to share, BIG mistake. It was meant to be salt & pepper squid BUT NO Salt & NO pepper and 8 anemic looking fatty squid rings on shredded carrot for $19.50, this was not a good sign of the meal to come. NO salt & pepper and No napkins on the table. My partner ordered the pork belly and I had the deep fried Groper, it was OK & thats being generous! The salad and vegetables were an extra charge on the already overpriced meal. $143.50 for a crappy meal was not a joke! We will NOT be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your meal, as all feedback is important to us. If you had let our staff know on the night that you were unhappy with your meal, we would have done our best to rectify the issues immediately. I will discuss your comments with our Head Chef as a matter of urgency.

I do apologise that you felt the meal was not up to our usual high standards.

Regards
Sara and the team at the Tides Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
“Can't fault this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had dinner here while on holiday. It was a beautiful evening and chose a table outside. This is not a cheap restaurant, but well worth it, and the servings are good size. We have dined at some top restaurants and this is up with the best. Beautiful white linen tablecloths, great service and lovely food. We will definitely be back next visit to Nelson.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I appreciate your comments regarding your meals at The Tides Restaurant. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive continuously to provide quality dining.

Once again, thank-you for choosing The Tides Restaurant & Bar and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sara & the team at The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have made it a "must" when visiting Nelson to visit The Tides for a meal and once again we were not disappointed. From the very friendly welcome, attentive but unobtrusive staff to the excellent meal it was an enjoyable evening. We always opt for the 3 course Set Menu which is excellent value for money however if you want to choose a la carte the choice is extensive. Food presentation is very attractive and the complimentary little "taster" offered before the meal is appreciated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on The Tides Restaurant & Bar. It always lovely to hear from our regular guests.

The set course menu options are not only great value but they also include some of our signature dishes from the a la carte menu. My particular favourite is the Warm Smoked Salmon Fillet and I'm sure you have already discovered your own favourite dishes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Sara and the team at The Tides Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Super service and very nicely presented food. Used Grab One voucher and experienced a very courteous welcome. Different menu for Grab One so really cannot comment overall but what we were offered was excellent value for money and the service first class. Prefer a more casual bohemian style venue so the lack of ambience and quiet was not to our style but first class for the business clientelle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. Our Grabone meal offers you a choice from seven of our most popular dishes from the a la carte menu. Do keep an eye out for our next Grabone deal, or come in for a meal off the full menu as we would love to see you back again.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at The TIdes Restaurant Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner and breakfast here New Years. The food at both dinner and breakfast was lovely- fresh and well presented and arrived quickly. Meals were a tad overpriced for nelson but not terribly so. Atmosphere is a bit blah in the restaurant. Dining outside would have been better if able to do so. Seafood was perfectly cooked. What was really outstanding was the service- attentive without being intrusive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at The Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted your enjoyed your meals with us, including the seafood which is our speciality. Its unfortunate that our weather over New Year's was not settled enough to dine on the riverside terrace - I hope you can return sometime soon to do that.

I will take great pleasure in passing on your lovely comments about the excellent service to the wait staff.

Kind regards
Sara & the team at The TIdes Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.