We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee, wonderful lovely coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison Street Cafe

Morrison Street Cafe
244 Hardy Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-548 8110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Multiple Winner of Best Cafe in Nelson. Bright, busy cafe in an historic building in central Nelson. Strong following of loyal locals but plenty to entice visitors as well. The menu changes seasonally and focuses on fresh, natural flavours that build on a number of ethnic cuisine styles. Our breakfasts have a large fan base with favourites like the Bacon & Eggs and Morrison Street's Local Breakfast staying on the menu year after year. Lunch includes Caesar Salad, Moroccan Pearl Couscous Salad and Chicken Tostada. There's plenty of fresh baking each day, a healthy kids menu and our coffee is excellent. There are lots of options for wheat, gluten & dairy sensitive people and vegetarians as well.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffee, wonderful lovely coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Super fast, friendly service. Beautiful coffee. A bit on the expensive side, but totally worth it. I was in and out of the cafe in under 10 minutes and off to my meeting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morrison Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    71
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fav cafe in nelson city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just the best service and great food and coffee too. Has to be the best in Nelson, lovely décor and indoor outdoor flow. Excellent service here, would be happy to work in this environment its great, so friendly and positive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morrison Street Cafe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your review. It's always good to get nice feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bohemian type cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Morrison Street Cafe is a very busy place to go. It leans to a sort of Bohemian feel. Love that the various DF and GF options given are so delicious and enjoyable. Interesting art exhibits, and their own products and recipes on sale.
Lovely to sit outside on a good day. Inside can be noisy as it does get very busy at peak times. But the food does make it worth while.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morrison Street Cafe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Nice review, thank you.
We find lots of our customers really appreciate the GF and DF options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An old favourite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love Morrison Street. Staff aren't always the most helpful but this cafe has a great vibe, and is suitable for everybody (oldies, youth, mums with prams etc). I love the benches outside under the umbrellas the best with a fruit tea and giant salad

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morrison Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your nice honest review Tagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“walked out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

was looking forwards having lunch ,by entering the cafe' there was no welcome ,sat down and waited for a staff member to deliver a menu ,to no avail ,after about 10 minutes we asked a passing staff member for a menu .saying nothing she threw the menus on the table.by that time i lost my appetite and walked out. it is a shame to see this happening in this usually well respected cafe'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonStreetCafe, Owner at Morrison Street Cafe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi
We are sorry to hear of your experience here. But we hope you won't let one bad experience put you off coming here again. We would love the chance to give you a memorable experience, for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrison Street Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Morrison Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.