We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bell Thai Restaurant

Golden Bell Thai Restaurant
104 Hardy Street, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
(03) 545 9388
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

visited yesterday with friends. very friendly and helpful waitress. busy but didn't wait for service and food. huge helpings. each dish had lots of vegetables and very little meat. the oyster sauce dish was watery and lacked flavour. liked that it is byo. meal cost $100 for 4 people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    35
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Nelson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like most every other review...the food was very good and the owner and staff are great. This needs to be on your very short list of restaurants in Nelson.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I went for lunch on Wednesday to Golden Bell Thai Restaurant, we had fanstastic service and food was so so good, I had the duck noodle soup which was to die for, my husband had the beef pad thai noodles. We would highly recommend going there, they make you feel special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Golden Bell for years and have had amazing service and food every single time. I have recently returned from Melbourne on holiday with my partner who now agrees that Golden Bell is the best Thai and service we've ever had! Highly recommend, have never been able to finish a dish serving sizes are very generous!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good value Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

A good value Thai restaurant with above average food . The owner is charming & a forgotten appetiser was not allowed to be paid for even though we offered as she was so apologetic & charming ! Dishes are generous & full of flavour.Clean & neat with a nice atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bell Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Golden Bell Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bell Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.