We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the hot stones” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Affair of Nelson

Cafe Affair of Nelson
295 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
(03) 548 8295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 117 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Notts,England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Try the hot stones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We chanced on this place whilst walking through Nelson to the cathedral, and noticed they had the 'cook at table' hot stone menu available. As our daughter had never tried this we booked for the following night. We were not disappointed! The food and service were good, the restaurant was busy but not overcrowded, and you could hold a normal conversation. One tip - if trying the hot stone go for the larger portion of rump steak - really good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    75
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice evening with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A group of 2 couples catching up. The wait staff were well informed and helpful. The suggestions were great and appreciated by us all. The food was tasty well presented and in exactly the right quantity. This is a great place to meet as conversation is easy in the quiet relaxed atmosphere

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Random Saturday night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and mate went into town for a random night out, we ended up here after the waiter yelled out the window "best food in town" as we were looking at the menu board outside. (great style by the young guy!!) anyway so we had a nice bottle of bubbles and a chic stone grill to start, everything was nice. Main I had the rib and my mate had the squid, both of the were very yummy, meat just fall of the ribs and the sauce was yummy!!
Also like to say that this was the first time Iv been in here in years and the service and quility is top notch. Keep up the good work guys :-D

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love the buzz of this place - and the food's amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We love going to Cafe Affair for that special night out! The staff are wonderful, the food is incredible, the atmosphere is great and they are very accommodating for people with gluten intolerance. Many thanks Cafe Affair, we'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a whole gluten free menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

this cafe has a great atmosphere with an up and down stairs right in the middle of nelson CBD. great coffee, large meals and stone grill but the best thing of all is a whole gluten free menu and seperate cabnet food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Affair of Nelson also viewed

Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Richmond, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Cafe Affair of Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Affair of Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.