We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Bar & Grill

Anchor Bar & Grill
62 Vickerman St, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
(03) 546 6614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 130 Restaurants in Nelson
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Marina view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place is in the heart of the maritime industrial area of Nelson, but you don't see any of this once you're inside. It does breakfast, lunch and dinner for workers in the area, and provides somewhere to drink, inside or out. We had two dinners there. For our first dinner we were seated just inside the entry door on Vickerman Street. The late afternoon sun was beating through the window and it got unpleasantly hot. Next time we asked to be seated elsewhere. Much of the seating gets a good view of the recreational boats in the marina. There is a nice outdoor seating area too, though you will have to share it with the smokers. The meals are substantial. Price? Dinner for two including drinks was just under $100. I recommend the gourmet fish: snapper with creamy scallop sauce. Yum!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    8
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good service when the owner was there. We ate there every night for a week and noticed when the boss was absent then so were the waitresses - really slack and had to wait ages for our food. As soon as the boss came back it was a lot quicker!
Most of the menu was good as the group we were with chose something different every night. My first meal was burnt with the tin foil stuck to the charcoaled food inside...yuk! When I told the German waitress she said 'oh well' !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Delicious Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dined here tonight and had the most delicious meal of fresh local scallops and fish & chips.
Service was top rate even though the restaurant was busy. Meal was finished with Creme Brulee and sticky date pudding with caramel sauce that was to die for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pub lunch on a sunny Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

As always...friendly yummy and fun...eating outside watching the yachts..and the seagulls...you are given a water pistol to keep the sea gulls at bay if you sit outside!! A great place for lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simple, Tasty & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Basic food done really well. Tasty fresh ingredients. Friendly, helpful service. Lovely marina side venue. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Bar & Grill also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Anchor Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.