We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakefield Quay House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wakefield Quay House to your Saves list
Wakefield Quay House
385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Nelson B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful view of the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Wakefield Quay House and I wish we could have stayed longer. My favorite thing was to sit in the bay windows and enjoy the afternoon sun. The bed was extremely comfortable. Woody and Johnie made me feel like a rock star!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
111
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kreuzberg, Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Woody and Johnie are the perfect hosts of a perfect place. Their beautiful home overlooks the water and views from both the bedrooms are stunning. Extremely comfortable beds, lovely rooms with everything to make your stay an absolute pleasure. Breakfasts were superb. My only grumble was that I didn't have enough time to enjoy the room as I was there for a festival. I could have happily stayed in bed all day :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Outstanding position right on the waterfront, two nice bedrooms cosy and comfty, and great sunshine. I liked the Ipod on the sideboard, and the fresh flowers -- a classy touch. The hospitality of the owners was just great; I felt like part of the family (and my stay was just for one night!)complete with friendly cat. Had a very nice dinner walking distance along the water. It really is a wonderful spot. But this B&B is not walking distance to the town part of Nelson -- you need a car, or bikes to get around. The other important tip is that this home is elevated from the road and rooms are up another flight of steps. So, you need to be fit enough to haul your suitcases and self up some stairs to get to the action! Loved visiting!

Room Tip: My room had a bathroom that was good for one person, quite tiny but perfectly outfitted. Queen bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wakefield Quay house for 7 nights in early February for our honeymoon. Our first impression was that the house was so beautiful, nothing could make our stay more enjoyable, but as it turned out, Woodi and Johnny were such friendly hosts that we almost forgot about how beautiful the place really was. Woodi's breakfasts were so delicious and generous, we didn't need lunch most days. We had a great time including some great conversations and by the end of it we felt like we lived there as friends. Woodi even let me drive her hilarious old Fiat Uno around for a day because being 21, my wife and I couldn't rent a car. All in all, we expected a great time and what we got was far better than we could have imagined.

Room Tip: We spent half the time in each room, both were fantastic. The Captain's Room had a beautiful win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our stay at Wakefield Quay House exceeded our expectations! Woodi and Johnny were fantastic hosts. It was a beautiful home, immaculate in every way. The location was perfect with outstanding views. It was great to have evening drinks with the hosts. We will definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Nelson.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful nights with Johnny and Woodi, and, like so many others, wish we could have spent much longer (and we will - we are going to do some sailing courses with Johnny this year - check out the website - partly because he has so much to offer in that department, but also just so that we can stay with them again).
These were a couple of the most enjoyable days we have spent in any B & B anywhere in the world. Wakefield Quay House is in THE prime position in Nelson with amazing views of the Port, Woodi cooks the tastiest breakfasts this side of the International Date Line, and the very laid back drinks and nibbles on the deck each afternoon really elevate the experience beyond the norm. To top it off, Woodi is a wealth of information and contacts, ensuring you really do experience the best Nelson has to offer (and it has a lot to offer!)
To sum it up? Bucket loads of fun, a very well appointed historic house, amazing views and terrific company - and VERY highly recommended.
Mark and Aimee, March 2012

Room Tip: there are only 2, and they're both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Wakefield Quay in February and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return here as there is still much to do in Nelson. Woodi and Johnny are wonderful hosts and Woodi is a whizz in the kitchen. Breakfast was always different and delicious and we enjoyed wine and nibbles on the deck every evening, taking in the wonderful water view. Woodi and Johnny have presented this B & B perfectly and they also advised on places to eat in the evening and what to see during the day, taking care to tailor to our tastes. I would recommend their establishment highly.

Room Tip: Choose the Crow's Nest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakefield Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Quay House

Address: 385 Wakefield Quay | Port Hills, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the best seaviews in Nelson! Watch the ships and yachts in the Nelson harbour from the spacious sunny decks with a complimentary glass or two of Nelson wine. This lovely 1905 historic villa has a contemporary interior mixed with antiques and original artworks. Queen seaview ensuite rooms,big towels, flat screen TVs, ipods & docks, free wi-fi and delicious cooked breakfasts. Superb panoramic sea to mountain views across Tasman Bay and Nelson lighthouse. You can swim in the ocean right out front, walk to The Boat Shed Cafe and Harbour Light Bistro or even learn to sail with Johnny at Sail Nelson RYA Sea School. Rates include complimentary drinks and nibbles from 6 to 7 each evening and a cooked breakfast daily. Come and kick your shoes off and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wakefield Quay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakefield Quay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.