We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brandon "Great place for a Nelosn holiday"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloha Lodge to your Saves list
Aloha Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   19 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
1 review
“Brandon "Great place for a Nelosn holiday"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My Wife & I stayed here in February 2014. We stayed in one the executive suites with the inclusive continental breakfast. The room was excellent with plenty of space, large windows letting in plenty of sun with a great view over the park at Tahunanui beach. The facilities in the room were great with a comfortable king size bed, reasonable TV, decent kitchen and a very large bathroom (including a sauna & large spa bath).
The location was excellent being right next to the beach and walking distance to all the bars & restaurants in the area. The owners were friendly with nothing being a bother.
The inclusive breakfast was a great idea with plenty of choice and set us up well for the rest of the day although there was only filtered coffee available.

Overall we found it good value for money, in a great location, with friendly hosts and good facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaLodgeNelson, Public Relations Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you Brandon for taking the time to give us your awesome feedback and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
50
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goolwa, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

For the tariff, the facilities, appointments and breakfast included, we could not fault Aloha Lodge. The proximity to restaurants made food access easy with a wide range of choices available. Thanks for sharing your special part of the world!

Room Tip: I think wherever we were in Aloha, there would be a pleasant outlook. Noise was not an issue even on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaLodgeNelson, Public Relations Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. Warm regards The Team at Aloha Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have traveled for the past month+ and Aloha Lodge is the single best spot we have stayed. Great room in one of the 'pagodas', helpful hosts, very convenient location, and they gave us breakfast too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay in the Nelson area and had tried a number of different properties before we found the Aloha Lodge but were very pleased with our choice. It's located a few miles outside the city centre at Tahunaui - very close to the beach. We stayed in a large room/suite on the top floor, which was very comfortable. The Lodge has just been taken over and elements of the furnishings are a little basic and perhaps a little dated but perfectly adequate. What made the stay really special was the owner - she really went out of her way to ensure that we made the best of our visit to Nelson, providing lots of excellent tourist information and ideas. It was useful to have the free continental breakfast and also free wifi. The property also has a decent pub/bar right behind it, which you can access through a gate in the fence, which was convenient for evening meals. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The big room on the top floor gives you great views if you don't mind the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked the Executive King Suite for our first night on the South Island. The room was awesome with a separate bedroom and spacious living area. It also had a very nice kitchen and a private sauna in the bathroom. This room is in one of the "towers" on the second floor with great views. It also included breakfast in their lovely dining room. The grounds were beautiful with lots of rhododendron and other flowers in bloom.
Our ferry was late and the staff was more than happy to wait for our late arrival as we drove the winding road from Picton. Another stop we would have liked to spend more than one night.

Room Tip: The second floor in the tower is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed 5 nights in the Director Suite on the Top story which offers an excellent view of the beach reserve that it overlooks. This suite has both a spa bath and sauna and provide an excellent way to relax after an energetic day out.
If offers guests a free continental breakfast which has a good range of healthy yet appetizing options. A high standard of linen is maintained along with daily cleaning & room service support. The staff are friendly and when asked, gave good suggestions for things to go and see in the Nelson district. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go there again.

Room Tip: It is furnished with a modest but none-the-less functional kitchenette. If doing your own cooking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst doing a tour with top deck. Rooms were excellent. Beds were comfy bathroom was clean and showers were excellent. Spits about a 30 minute walk into Nelson but there's busses that you can catch, there's also a KFC and a few restaurants near by if you don't want to cook yourselkpf. There's a big social area that you can sit and chill in aswell. A very nice place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lodge

Address: 19 Beach Road | Tahunanui, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast, Aloha Lodge is just 2 minutes’ walk from Nelson’s beautiful Tahunanui Beach. All rooms offer SKY Guest Select 50+. Some rooms also have saunas and a spa baths. Aloha Lodge is close to Nelson Airport and Nelson City is an 8 minute drive away. There several restaurants and bars within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Aloha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.