We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Nelson. Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Palazzo Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Rutherford Street, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best in Nelson. Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

There is nothing I can write here that hasn't been said already. So I will simply endorse all of the comments made to date and confirm that this place is everything we hoped for from the other reviews, and Bob and Kiara were the perfect, personable and helpful hosts. Thank you very much! Next time we're in Nelson, we'll be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
232
38
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed for three nights and right from the moment we made a telephone enquiry to through to our departure, we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel had been recommended to us by a friend and described as 'fantastic' and it certainly lived up to and exceeded that description in every way. It is obvious the owners not only understand how important customer service is, but they demonstrate in every way they actually care about their guests and will do anything they can to add to the overall holiday experience. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with cleanliness and appearance given equal detailed consideration. After a busy day it was great to return to a first class room where everything was absolutely perfect. I sincerely hope we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed for two nights in January and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and good value. We found the Management to be very helpful as demonstrated by us turning up early and them making every effort to get us into our rooms as soon as possible. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeicesterUK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

I was going to write this glowing report on how this hotel is THE ultimate in accomodation in Nelson, but I dont have to.
Everything good has all been written before.
Its location is ideal, a 3 minute walk from the shopping hub of the town, a short drive from the sea.
Karen was only too willing to help us and advise on attractions.
We stopped before a trip and came back for our final 2 nights in NZ.
We sampled the Presidential room first but had to 'settle' for a studio on return but seriously, based on comfort, you really couldn't tell the difference apart from a jacuzzi.
This is THE place to stop if you are treating yourself. It is no more expensive than other motels/hotels in the area.
Cannot rate the place high enough

  • Liked — Clean, friendly and affordable
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

This was our fourth NZ motel and the best. It’s located on a busy street, mixed in with car dealerships and McDonalds, but only five minutes walk from the centre of this buzzy and very pretty town. The management of the Palazzo are brilliant, hands-on, thinking all the time of improvements, and the hugely favourable comments they have already received from TA reviewers are well earned. The entry court and parking lot have been softened by plants in large containers and the rooms, on two floors in two wings, are quite excellent. Ours, No 205, was one of the cheaper ones but was cleverly designed and had a really good bathroom. The only thing it lacked was a comfy chair or two. Ground floor rooms are larger and are well worth the extra.

The owner knew everything about the area and recommended us a restaurant for dinner and a cafe for breakfast -this was Morrison’s at 244 Hardy Street and their take on eggs benedict was the best food of our entire NZ trip so far. Bang up to date and served with finesse. Just like this excellent motel.

  • Liked — Great management, smart room
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

So you will probably read all of the great reviews about this hotel and they are all true. We stayed 3 nights in January 2009 and the room fit us perfectly. Clean, sapcious, close to the city center. Kiara greeted us on arrival in the parking lot and was very helpful and nice. The room was new and tastefully decorated. The value (a.k.a. price) was within our budget. Can't say anything more except that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We spent only one night at Palazzo unfortunately, we had been travelling around both New Zealand islands for a few weeks- our flights home were looming- and this motel stood out by quite a margin in our experience.
The generous size rooms are spotless and extremely well equipped. The position is central for a quick and easy walk to the town centre, and, on Kiara's recommendation, we visited Hopgoods restaurant for the best meal we had in New Zealand.
Particularly excellent is the "Can do" attitude of the owners, Kiara and Bob, nothing was too much trouble. Bob's breakfast was first class and a great start to the day!
Thank you for a excellent stay. your generous hospitality and for making the family feel so welcome. We very much hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — Great owners and 1st class accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.