We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodaion and welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Palazzo Motor Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Rutherford Street, Nelson, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“First class accommodaion and welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in a Executive Suite for one night at the Palazzo Motor Lodge on 21 March.

Great welcome, friendly, relaxed, very helpful, made checking in so very easy, which is what you need after a long journey.

The room was fantastic, lots of room, modern, quality furnishings, lovely spa bath shower and toiletries, large very comfortable bed, full kitchen, Sky with 50+ channels and spotlessly clean.

There was an area to put your computer and work and a good internet connection for which there is a small charge.

They waived this for us as we had booked for three nights but cancelled two nights at short notice. They had sold the room on one night so very kindly did not charge us for this but they did have to charge us for the second night when they were unable to sell the room.

We have been touring New Zealand for 8 weeks and this was by far the best motel we have stayed at, both in terms of the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Executive Suite plenty of room excellent accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
232
38
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Palazzo Motor Lodge came highly recommended from a friend in Nelson who works in the tourism industry, and I couldn't have been more pleased! I stayed for two nights in Room 106 - a well appointed deluxe room tucked away in the corner. The room was impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable. Kiara was extremely friendly and helpful throughout my stay. She recommended excellent restaurants and happenings around town - including Taste Nelson, a wonderful wine and food festival that I would have never discovered without her recommendation. The property is ideally located within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shops, and they even offer loaner bikes to guests if desired. I've traveled throughout New Zealand and much of the world, and I would definitely recommend the Palazzo Motor Lodge. I will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Kiara upgraded us to a 1 bedroom unit because we were celebrating our 40th anniversary. We really enjoyed staying at a small owned/operated facility because of the service/hospitality shown by Kiara. She was truly outstanding and just so helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. She called and booked our excursion to Abel Tasman, which saved us from a long line up at the information centre. It was just a short walking distance to great restaurants. Free access to washer/dryer was much appreciated. Wifi wasn't free, but at least a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon stay in this wonderful Lodge. :-)
We extended our stay because we liked it so much!
Excellent service, very friendly, super clean, super comfortable, beautiful luxury room, very quiet.
Highly recommended!

Bettina & Thomas, Switzerland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Travelled from Sydney for the Adam Chamber Music Festival in February, stayed a week at Palazzo .
We were delighted with our stylish, immaculate rooms with every little thing we could have needed.
The generosity of the owner/managers,Kiara and Bob was wonderful. Breakfasts very good.
Certainly heading back there for next Music Festival. short walk to town centre and concerts.Pamela Newton.

Room Tip: Is on a main road but noise was not a problem, and I'm neurotic about noise, with the big slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A last minute arrival in Nelson and a spare suite was available.
Kiara was so helpfull even giving us ideas for our onward travels.
A fantastic suite with everything we needed.
Cannot fault. Yes, a bit more expensive than a backpackers hostel but not prohibitive.
We were only staying one night and really appreciate they could accomodate us at such short notice.
If we ever find ourselves that way again will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here during a recent trip to Nelson. It was wonderful in every possible respect. The rooms are large, well-appointed and immaculate. The location is a short walk from restaurants and attractions. But even more significant was the extreme care given to us by Kiara from the second we arrived. She found us the right restaurants (including lining up the best tables) and activities, loaned us towels and backpacks for a tramp through the state parks, and delivered us delicious breakfasts each morning. She and Bob clearly genuinely cared that our visit to Nelson was just right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.